• QuadraphonicQuad welcomes you and encourages your participation! Treat all members with respect. Please keep all discussions civil, even when you have a strong opinion on a particular topic.

    Do not offer for free, offer for sale, offer for trade, or request copies or files of copyrighted material - no matter how rare or unavailable to the public they might be. We do not condone the illegal sharing of music. There are many places on the internet where you can participate in such transactions, but QuadraphonicQuad is not one of them. We are here to encourage and support new multichannel releases from those companies that still provide them and as such the distribution of illegal copies of recordings is counter-productive to that effort. Any posts of this sort will be deleted without notification.

    Please try to avoid discussions that pit one format against another. Hint for new users: make liberal use of the search facilities here at QuadraphonicQuad. Our message base is an incredibly rich resource of detailed information on virtually all topics pertaining to surround-sound. You will be surprised at what you can find with a little digging!

My PC no longer can Read BR50's or DVD-9's as the size disk they are they are read as BR-25's and DVD5's

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

jeffko

Active Member
QQ Supporter
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
Messages
51
Location
Bulgaria
I have got a new burner, tried multiple programs.

Is there a windows setting for this?

I have written to Nero and ImgBurn -- talked to my PC guru's -- no help. Anyone else ever see this?
 

beerking

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Messages
3,173
Location
Wantage, Oxfordshire ..UK
I have got a new burner, tried multiple programs.

Is there a windows setting for this?

I have written to Nero and ImgBurn -- talked to my PC guru's -- no help. Anyone else ever see this?
Which version of Windows are you using?
I found this old post, it may still be relevant... :unsure:
 

jimfisheye

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
1,335
I have got a new burner, tried multiple programs.

Is there a windows setting for this?

I have written to Nero and ImgBurn -- talked to my PC guru's -- no help. Anyone else ever see this?
So this followed installing the new bluray drive?

I would say it's on the drive manufacturer to deliver. If they say certain OS's are compatible, that should be that. Those app makers aren't on the hook for that and wouldn't have any advice beyond "Is the drive compatible with your OS?"

The bluray drive manufacturer will specify compatible OS's and compatible BDR discs.
BRD (like any recordable disc) has an identifier readable by the burner. If a burner sees something it doesn't recognize, it may get confused and think it's a different disc.

I'm not a Windows user but my understanding was they were up to speed with bluray support. It's not supposed to be a Mac only thing anymore.

I'd look at the drive makers compatibility and spec and take it up with them.
 

jeffko

Active Member
QQ Supporter
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
Messages
51
Location
Bulgaria
I had the same problem with both the new and the old drive. The only thing that is different is that before I insert a blank BR disc I now have 4 choices instead of 2 and 2 burners where i do not have access to burning discs the way they are intended
2020-BD Choices.png
 

DuncanS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
4,738
Location
UK
Are they connected via USB? I had issues with early Windows 10 Home & my Blu-ray burner after an update (it wouldn't recognise the burner), I ended up disconnecting it, deleting the Windows driver, then re-connecting it and it came to life.
 

jamoke

Active Member
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 30, 2008
Messages
94
Location
Mesa, AZ
Yup, sounds like a driver issue. Delete the driver(s), disconnect the device, power off everything, and start fresh install.
 
Group builder
Top