New member

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

Joined
Nov 14, 2021
Messages
24
Location
San pedro
Question I tried to hook this up and I pulled my record player into it.. and took another cable to the surround sound. The CD-4 light never turned on could only hear it on bypass and left or right audio knob did nothing..

What am I not doing correctly

My Surround sound has 4 plugs

Input 2

Output 2

The demodulator has (shown in the photo)

Clearly I do not have the technical expertise to even attempt to try to understand the posts above as I need a doctorate and quadraphonic
 

Attachments

  • 1EDC1579-4252-4A81-8C99-46FC0479621B.png
    1EDC1579-4252-4A81-8C99-46FC0479621B.png
    7.6 MB · Views: 0
  • 491CDC79-257E-46F9-B5A4-BDD7F647AF0C.jpeg
    491CDC79-257E-46F9-B5A4-BDD7F647AF0C.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 0

Sonik Wiz

👂 500 MPH EARS 👂
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
3,511
Location
Kansas City
Question I tried to hook this up and I pulled my record player into it.. and took another cable to the surround sound. The CD-4 light never turned on could only hear it on bypass and left or right audio knob did nothing..

What am I not doing correctly

My Surround sound has 4 plugs

Input 2

Output 2

The demodulator has (shown in the photo)

Clearly I do not have the technical expertise to even attempt to try to understand the posts above as I need a doctorate and quadraphonic
I can't tell much from the pics but to hook it up right the turntable plugs into the top two RCA jacks. The decoded outputs are taken from the bottom four jacks & plug into the appropriate input jacks on your receiver.

If it is in the stereo bypass mode the CD-4 light will not come on and no sound will be output, except for the stereo bypass outs on the CD-4 unit.

Unlike stereo or matrix QS/SQ etc records, CD-4 requires a compatible cartridge & stylus, and the TT should have low capacitance cables for best operation. I won't go into more detail cuz there's a couple of extensive threads started started by @edisonbaggins with all this info.
 

Sonik Wiz

👂 500 MPH EARS 👂
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
3,511
Location
Kansas City
Here’s some other pics
If your TT cables are the black ones plugged into the top 2 phono jacks then that is good. All else seems to be wrong.

You have cables plugged into the stereo bypass jacks. As I said before the decoded CD-4 outputs are taken from the bottom four jacks. Renumber this is quad, 4 ch, and you have front left/right and back left/right. You need two conventional 2 ch cables for the CD-4 output output and plug those into the four matching input jacks on your receiver.

Two suggestions: In your profile there is a place to list all your gear. This is good for others to check when they are trying to help you. For example, I don't even know if your receiver has the required 4 ch inputs because I don't know the model number.

Also this thread is way off course from a new member introduction. You would probably get a better response if you split these questions into a new thread.

And make sure theCD-4 box is not on bypass when you try to play a CD-4 record.
 

Sonik Wiz

👂 500 MPH EARS 👂
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
3,511
Location
Kansas City
My bad I see you did list your receiver in the 1st post as a Yamaha GTR-6030 (actually it's a HTR-6030). Still a good idea to keep all the equipment info in one place, in your profile, easy to find. Anyway I DL'ed the owners manual and you do have the necessary MCH input jacks to use with the CD-4 demodulator. They are on the bottom towards the left side.

FWIW I have an AT LP-120 TT like you and an AT 440-MLA cartridge. It plays CD-4 just fine. Is this a TT with built in record pre-amp? On mine you have to take the platter mat off & look through the platter holes for a little slide switch to turn the pre-amp on/off. You definetly want it OFF to use with CD-4.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2021
Messages
24
Location
San pedro
Copy.. so my question is do I plug the record player into the Harman Cardin and then plug everything else into the MCH?

Then will I get true quad? For discrete 4.. updated the stylus too!

Can’t find the place on the profile but I’ll look to add my gear
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2021
Messages
24
Location
San pedro
My bad I see you did list your receiver in the 1st post as a Yamaha GTR-6030 (actually it's a HTR-6030). Still a good idea to keep all the equipment info in one place, in your profile, easy to find. Anyway I DL'ed the owners manual and you do have the necessary MCH input jacks to use with the CD-4 demodulator. They are on the bottom towards the left side.

FWIW I have an AT LP-120 TT like you and an AT 440-MLA cartridge. It plays CD-4 just fine. Is this a TT with built in record pre-amp? On mine you have to take the platter mat off & look through the platter holes for a little slide switch to turn the pre-amp on/off. You definetly want it OFF to use with CD-4.
I looked and all I see is 115 or 230.. what one should it be turned to
 

Attachments

  • 7CC16635-43A5-401C-8D2F-BAAE3ECA1D95.jpeg
    7CC16635-43A5-401C-8D2F-BAAE3ECA1D95.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0
  • 05E5BBE0-220C-47AB-A458-FD3B6670EA3C.jpeg
    05E5BBE0-220C-47AB-A458-FD3B6670EA3C.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 0
Joined
Nov 14, 2021
Messages
24
Location
San pedro
I’ve turned it on.. turned it off plugged it in every single way.. what am I doing wrong
 

Attachments

  • 68170554037__94E5F114-88FB-4FA7-856C-B9E763AACA16.MOV
    2.3 MB
Top