Noob question - QS and SQ decoding with Pro Logic 1?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GBAF70

Hello. Im not sure if this is where to post this but I'm new to quad LP's and I searched the forum before posting this question. My question is I'm trying to play Ten Years Afters "A Space In Time" and Steely Dans " Pretzel Logic" quad LP's using a new Audio Technica turntable with 4 speakers and a old receiver with Pro Logic 1. I have read that this isn't the proper way to decode the LP's but that you can at least hear some seapararion from the speakers. I hear no separation in any of the speakers. Is it a no go with this setup? Thanks and sorry if this question has been asked before.

Someone can answer your question better then me. But what is your Amp’s Model number and Make?

Sometimes you have to play with your receiver’s settings to get things to work, depending.

Welcome. It's my understanding that the decoding parameters of the old quad matrix formats and Pro Logic are somewhat different, so the degree of channel separation and sounds steered to the rear speakers on your current setup are unlikely to be what the mixing engineer intended for you hear.

The Ten Years After LP is encoded in the CBS 'SQ' matrix format and should feature fairly-pronounced channel separation when played through the proper type of decoder. The album was remixed in an intentionally 'active' way to show off the new (at the time) quad format--for instance, the acoustic guitar at the end of "Here They Come" should begin circling the room clockwise.

The Steely Dan LP is encoded in the Sansui 'QS' matrix format, but--even with the proper decoder--you'll hear minimal separation between speakers. That's just the way it was mixed. The first two albums were remixed to quad more aggressively with instruments frequently isolated in the back speakers.