• QuadraphonicQuad welcomes you and encourages your participation! Treat all members with respect. Please keep all discussions civil, even when you have a strong opinion on a particular topic.

    Do not offer for free, offer for sale, offer for trade, or request copies or files of copyrighted material - no matter how rare or unavailable to the public they might be. We do not condone the illegal sharing of music. There are many places on the internet where you can participate in such transactions, but QuadraphonicQuad is not one of them. We are here to encourage and support new multichannel releases from those companies that still provide them and as such the distribution of illegal copies of recordings is counter-productive to that effort. Any posts of this sort will be deleted without notification.

    Please try to avoid discussions that pit one format against another. Hint for new users: make liberal use of the search facilities here at QuadraphonicQuad. Our message base is an incredibly rich resource of detailed information on virtually all topics pertaining to surround-sound. You will be surprised at what you can find with a little digging!

Odroid N2: How to Setup and Install Kodi

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

haikubass

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,166
Location
Prague
Two quick questions if I may (I can elaborate later on):

1) I have a PS3 remote control lying around - could I possibly use it for Odroid? I happen to have a bluetooth dongle that is working fine with a Microsoft mouse already, no setting up needed, and I suppose that using BlueZ could be a way, but that's it for me now trying on my own.

2) One of my favourite features is rating tracks and creating playlists on the fly. Now, is there an easy way to make the rating permanent (to tag on the fly)? Once I'm forced to re-route my HDD source, they're gone. (I'm currently using Yatse app remote control.)
 

winopener

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
3,693
Two quick questions if I may (I can elaborate later on):

1) I have a PS3 remote control lying around - could I possibly use it for Odroid? I happen to have a bluetooth dongle that is working fine with a Microsoft mouse already, no setting up needed, and I suppose that using BlueZ could be a way, but that's it for me now trying on my own.

2) One of my favourite features is rating tracks and creating playlists on the fly. Now, is there an easy way to make the rating permanent (to tag on the fly)? Once I'm forced to re-route my HDD source, they're gone. (I'm currently using Yatse app remote control.)
1) Possible, but you need to work it out well:

2) Sorry, you just named the two thing i'll never do or did anytime. Maybe i'm a too old fart, i'm strongly album-oriented.
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
3,004
Location
Melbourne, Australia
There probably isn’t Linux drivers available in CoreElec.

The Minix A2 is a very good Radio Frequency remote with drivers built into CoreElec. It’s only around $20 odd from Amazon. It comes with a USB dongle.
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
3,004
Location
Melbourne, Australia
2) One of my favourite features is rating tracks and creating playlists on the fly. Now, is there an easy way to make the rating permanent (to tag on the fly)? Once I'm forced to re-route my HDD source, they're gone. (I'm currently using Yatse app remote control.)
You can create playlists on the fly using one of the Kodi smartphone or tablet app (Android or iOS). You can probably do it with a remote control but I’ve never used that feature with a remote.

I use the Kodi Music Remote Pro app on my iPad. It’s fantastic for creating and modifying the current playlist. You can also jump to various websites for the current artist or album. It shows the data on the iPad while Kodi continues to play its playlist. This app also allows you to insert tracks at end or next in playlist, change order, add an entire album etc. There’s a demo I did here in this sub-forum on QQ.
 
Last edited:

haikubass

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
1,166
Location
Prague
I use the Kodi Music Remote Pro app on my iPad. It’s fantastic for creating and modifying the current playlist. You can also jump to various websites for the current artist or album. It shows the data on the iPad while Kodi continues to play its playlist. This app also allows you to insert tracks at end or next in playlist, change order, add ant entire album etc. There’s a demo I did here in this sub-forum on QQ.
Thanks, got it (missed it before):
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
3,004
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Here‘s the post about the Kodi Music Remote app with demo:

 

winopener

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
3,693
One correction

On the XML file above, i suggest to change
<audio>
<minimumsamplerate>48000</minimumsamplerate>
<excludefromscan>


to

<audio>
<minimumsamplerate>44100</minimumsamplerate>
<excludefromscan>


in order to play correctly 44100 sources without resampling.
 

winopener

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
3,693
I've read


so it should be possible, at least for the begin (need a month and a spare HDD to change the tag way on the actual library), to exclude .flac files from library indexing and force only a .cue reading for tags .

So i added on the advancedsettings.xml the lines

<musicextensions>
<add>.cue</add>
<remove>.flac|.wav</remove>
</musicextensions>

placed the file in the userdata folder, cancelled the old library, reboot, rescan... and no effect. Files are indexed not looking only at the cue but only at the audio file tags.

I'm using as a test drive a thumbdrive with three mch album:
one that has the correct tags ONLY in the cue, so if it loads the tags from the separate tracks it's very clear
one that is a cue+single big file (that doesn't show the folder.jpg cover too)
one that is a compilation album in which the cue has the correct album infos and the single tracks have their original-album-sourced infos.

I have read on the forum that the music scraping has been changed a lot from v17 to v18, but the wiki is basically v17. Better to wait for updates in the wiki, or some suggestion?
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
3,004
Location
Melbourne, Australia
I’d recommend you post on the Kodi forum in the Music Support section. The main Kodi music developer (Dave Blake) will probably reply and tell you exactly what’s required for you to use CUE files and not tagged files.

I’m sorry I can’t help you as I use tagged files exclusively for FLAC. Only cue for MKA (for Atmos music). Actually, I think for those to work the MKA files must have no tags, then the CUE works. Maybe try with tags removed from your FLACs?
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
3,004
Location
Melbourne, Australia
BTW: I did not change anything in my advanced settings for CUE to work with MKA, just removed the tags from mka
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
3,004
Location
Melbourne, Australia
I'm using as a test drive a thumbdrive with three mch album:
one that has the correct tags ONLY in the cue, so if it loads the tags from the separate tracks it's very clear
one that is a cue+single big file (that doesn't show the folder.jpg cover too)
one that is a compilation album in which the cue has the correct album infos and the single tracks have their original-album-sourced infos.
I was just looking at this thread as I’ve ordered a new Odroid C4 to use as a media player (cheaper than the N2 but a little slower). I’ll do a new thread on set up once it arrives.

Cue files in Kodi: Foobar will convert a cue to individual FLAC files using the tags in the cue. That would be relatively painless. I did this today for an album, it’s pretty fast but you need to select each cue but you can select multiple cues and do a batch conversion. So a few minutes selecting each cue then walk away and all the albums get converted in sequence.
 
Top