DVD/DTS Poll Oldfield. Mike - Ommadawn [DD DVD+2CD]

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

Rate the Audio-DVD of Mike Oldfield - OMMADAWN

• Total voters

quadrofis

Spot on surround mix. Much more aggressive and discrete than the Boxed quad remix. Ommadawn was always great on any surround format, even fake surround. Now this carefully recunstructed mix not only wraps around you nicely, it also highlights lots of previously unheard spots, without being all too distracting.
One point off for being low-res dd 5.1 only!

rusinurbe

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Since 2002/2003
Spot on surround mix. Much more aggressive and discrete than the Boxed quad remix. Ommadawn was always great on any surround format, even fake surround. Now this carefully recunstructed mix not only wraps around you nicely, it also highlights lots of previously unheard spots, without being all too distracting.
One point off for being low-res dd 5.1 only!
as above, Its my first time with Ommadawn and Hergest ridge and I ahve to say i am looking forward to the rest of Mike Oldfields catalog in Surround Hope it happens. I would love to have 'Five Miles Out' in Surround.

dobyblue

600 Club - QQ All-Star
I've never heard the Quad mixes, but Ommadawn is probably the work of Mike's I'm most familiar with.

Despite being incredibly sad about the lack of the surround mix being presented with any sort of fidelity I gave in and ordered both Hergest Ridge and Ommadawn to Canada from Amazon.uk and it worked out to about US$41, substantially cheaper than ordering them domestically from Amazon.com or .ca

The surround mix is almost flawless here, I really enjoyed listening to this with the TV off and the lights out. Who cares about watching still images of Mike with all his equipment, most of them are in the liner notes and you can look at them there. The only marks I found I take off: