Possible HDD going bad-maybe?

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

J. PUPSTER

QQ Lifetime Supporter
QQ Lifetime Supporter
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2017
Messages
9,181
Location
CALIFORNIA (CENTRAL)
as Butters would say...

BUTTERS -OSJ.gif


CLONED HDD.jpg


Hopefully this has worked as intended.

I purchased the EZ-Dock; a WD 2TB Black, and Acronis True Image 2021 and started the cloning yesterday.

* a few days prior was spent prepping my old computer by making sure everything was backed up to an SSD; also turned off software like Anti-Virus etc., and made sure to Defrag everything. I also remembered to turn off the 3 hour sleep mode in Power Settings just in case.
Now, I have to admit this went fairly smoothly, except for a couple of things; first, I ran it through a USB 2.0 port instead of my 3.0 port (I did this intentionally because this old Dell has a separate card slot in the case and 3.0 was fairly new when I bought it, and I always felt, using it on occasion, that it was a little finicky (maybe drivers?) so I opted for just the 2.0 knowing full well this would extend the time period. But when Acronis started cloning, it estimated the finish time out to something ridiculous like 3 days and 21 hours or some such B.S. I figured it was just crappy at estimating these times (I only had 615GB on the drive) and luckily I was right. But it still took a looooong ass time, I started about 10 a.m. yesterday and sometime last night it finished, so maybe 13-14 hours.)
What was the most frustrating actually was the Online sign up to verify and use the downloaded Acronis app. I bought a boxed version off Amazon, and it came with one of those serial number cards. So when I started inputting the serial number to activate the program it wouldn't take anything (saying it was incorrect!) So ended up asking their online chat bot and it directed me to this page as one option-
This is an activation key not a serial number, but you use the activation key to get the serial number to activate your account. But nowhere in the boxed version does it explain all of this. Took me about an hour of frustration just to figure this B.S. out :rolleyes:
 

jimfisheye

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
2,125
You'll want to google what the startup key command is for choosing the boot drive. (Called the GRUB in Windows and Linux I think. GRand Universal Bootloader.) On Mac it's holding the option key at bootup to see the list of connected bootable drives to choose from.

That dialog box up there is glossing over that bit, FYI.
 

Sonik Wiz

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
2,775
Location
Kansas City
as Butters would say...

View attachment 66791

View attachment 66792

Hopefully this has worked as intended.

I purchased the EZ-Dock; a WD 2TB Black, and Acronis True Image 2021 and started the cloning yesterday.

* a few days prior was spent prepping my old computer by making sure everything was backed up to an SSD; also turned off software like Anti-Virus etc., and made sure to Defrag everything. I also remembered to turn off the 3 hour sleep mode in Power Settings just in case.
Now, I have to admit this went fairly smoothly, except for a couple of things; first, I ran it through a USB 2.0 port instead of my 3.0 port (I did this intentionally because this old Dell has a separate card slot in the case and 3.0 was fairly new when I bought it, and I always felt, using it on occasion, that it was a little finicky (maybe drivers?) so I opted for just the 2.0 knowing full well this would extend the time period. But when Acronis started cloning, it estimated the finish time out to something ridiculous like 3 days and 21 hours or some such B.S. I figured it was just crappy at estimating these times (I only had 615GB on the drive) and luckily I was right. But it still took a looooong ass time, I started about 10 a.m. yesterday and sometime last night it finished, so maybe 13-14 hours.)
What was the most frustrating actually was the Online sign up to verify and use the downloaded Acronis app. I bought a boxed version off Amazon, and it came with one of those serial number cards. So when I started inputting the serial number to activate the program it wouldn't take anything (saying it was incorrect!) So ended up asking their online chat bot and it directed me to this page as one option-
This is an activation key not a serial number, but you use the activation key to get the serial number to activate your account. But nowhere in the boxed version does it explain all of this. Took me about an hour of frustration just to figure this B.S. out :rolleyes:
I don't know about Butters, but I think I'm channeling something from Jay & Silent Bob.....

You are now The Clone Commander!

Yeah, it seems like that is a long time for processing the amount of data you had. Some was certainly USB 2.0 but I also wonder if whatever that slow down bug was, the one that got you off on this project, was also slowing down the cloning?

My Acronis I think is about 5>6 years old now & I just got a DL from their website. It was easy to activate. What you had to go through is absurd. A great innovation, evidently, by the Acronis Department of Redundancy Department.

But really, glad its worked out & you've lived to tell about.
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
4,329
Location
Melbourne, Australia
When you buy a new WD drive you get a free Acronis version from the WD website. It only works if the clone drive is a WD I think.
 

Madman Riley

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
40
[Probably should have posted much of this here instead of on the "preferred NAS" thread...
Even so, Steve Gibson has made it abundantly clear how many times/places you'll see inaccurately reported errors -- even on brand new drives! -- when S.M.A.R.T. tables are the source of said reports.

[He also gets the point across that where and when such errors DO exist, SpinRite's method of addressing them will very often repair the error and/or recover data within sectors.]

-----

I tried (and failed) to point J.Pupster in Steve's direction, recommending Gibson's phenomenal SpinRite software first Possible HDD going bad-maybe? for resolving his HDD problems instead of going through all the time-consuming hoops.

Oh, well...maybe all it takes is seeing it in action.

00srGSD.gif



00srRTA.gif


00srDTL.gif





Hopefully this has worked as intended.

I purchased the EZ-Dock; a WD 2TB Black, and Acronis True Image 2021 and started the cloning yesterday.

* a few days prior was spent prepping my old computer by making sure everything was backed up to an SSD; also turned off software like Anti-Virus etc., and made sure to Defrag everything. I also remembered to turn off the 3 hour sleep mode in Power Settings just in case.

Now, I have to admit this went fairly smoothly, except for a couple of things; first, I ran it through a USB 2.0 port instead of my 3.0 port (I did this intentionally because this old Dell has a separate card slot in the case and 3.0 was fairly new when I bought it, and I always felt, using it on occasion, that it was a little finicky (maybe drivers?) so I opted for just the 2.0 knowing full well this would extend the time period. But when Acronis started cloning, it estimated the finish time out to something ridiculous like 3 days and 21 hours or some such B.S. I figured it was just crappy at estimating these times (I only had 615GB on the drive) and luckily I was right. But it still took a looooong ass time, I started about 10 a.m. yesterday and sometime last night it finished, so maybe 13-14 hours.)
 

Attachments

J. PUPSTER

QQ Lifetime Supporter
QQ Lifetime Supporter
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2017
Messages
9,181
Location
CALIFORNIA (CENTRAL)
[Probably should have posted much of this here instead of on the "preferred NAS" thread...
Even so, Steve Gibson has made it abundantly clear how many times/places you'll see inaccurately reported errors -- even on brand new drives! -- when S.M.A.R.T. tables are the source of said reports.

[He also gets the point across that where and when such errors DO exist, SpinRite's method of addressing them will very often repair the error and/or recover data within sectors.]

-----

I tried (and failed) to point J.Pupster in Steve's direction, recommending Gibson's phenomenal SpinRite software first Possible HDD going bad-maybe? for resolving his HDD problems instead of going through all the time-consuming hoops.

Oh, well...maybe all it takes is seeing it in action.

00srGSD.gif



00srRTA.gif


00srDTL.gif
Sure, thanks for the info; but I did want a back-up cloned drive in case of total drive failure. I believe @jimfisheye recently had a newer WD drive go bad on him; you just never know.
 
Top