HiRez Poll Queensryche - EMPIRE [DVD-A]

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rate the DVD-A of Queensryche - EMPIRE

• Total voters
the more I listen to this 5.1 the more impressed I am, and I've been listening to this album for the last 30 years since it came out.

blabbermouth.net said:
In a June 2019 interview, former vocalist Geoff Tate announced his intentions to perform the entire album live in 2020 to celebrate the 30th anniversary. He also said that there will be a new 30th anniversary edition box set.

Last edited:
I voted 8, love the disc, but surround is weak, still better than stereo, turning up loud of course makes it better.

actually it's the mixing (James Barton) /authoring (Bob Ludwig) of this disc IMO that indeed makes it sound better the louder it's played.

Instead of the usual brickwall which of course you can hear better because it's louder this disc has each speaker/instrument mixed in a way that the louder it is the more it separates and becomes discrete. It's almost like each instrument/ vocal has it's own separate volume control even though it's played at one total volume. It's very unusual IMO and I like that.

cranked up I've never heard certain words/sounds/effects or instruments like I do with this disc.

Last edited:
Here's a list of James Barton's credits (and he's not even listed in the Surround Engineer polls, wha??)

https://jamesjimbobarton.com/#artists
https://www.allmusic.com/artist/james-barton-mn0003131936

an egregious oversight! šŸ§ šŸ˜‰

more seriously, he wouldn't be on the list unless i was made aware of it/him doing surround mixes and tbh i have been remiss in updating the lists but Garry (HomerJAU ) has kindly been taking up the slack and done the most recent additions.