Questions about Sonore ISO2DSD

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
So I mentioned earlier that my Oppo 103 has jailbreak firmware. It gives the Oppo the capability to play .iso files of my SACD/DVDA/DVD/BD discs, and also allows me to stream them from the pc using an NFS server implementation I purchased from a gent in Germany. NFS from what I understand is more a Unix based file system but has some compatibilities in Windows. I am not an expert on this by any means and have little knowledge of Unix/freeBSD/openBSD or other implementations.
However If you look in Windows under Programs and Features/Turn Windows features on or off/ you will see a listing for NFS. You will also see listings for SMB as well.

I had given up trying to make Windows 11 simple file sharing work reliably with the Oppo so this is why I'm using the NFS implementation instead of the Oppo's older SMB v1, which has been about crippled in recent Windows versions, apparently, (as reported by another member in a separate thread) in favor of SMB v2 & 3. However I've been told that some/most NAS setups don't have the same problems with communication with the older SMB v1 protocol (SMB stands for Server Message Block which is a Windows file sharing protocol. Version 1 is reportably what the older Oppo networked disc players such as my BDP-103 use)

I just bring all this up as a preface to my reported difficulties ripping SACD's with my Oppo 103 after the firmware change. Knowing there are some other members that are well versed in the technical side of things is another reason to provide as much detail as I'm able.

Having occurred to me that the firmware change could be responsible, I reached out to OPPO-JB.com where I purchased the jailbreak/firmware kit, and specifically asked if SACD ripping was killed by the firmware change.