realtime decoding of QS/SQ FLAC files, via PC playback?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

ummagumma

Wild Boar at Pompeii
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
558
Location
Canada
been reading/searching the site but haven't found anything related to this yet:

are there any plugins for Foobar or other media players, that will decode QS/SQ wav/flac files, on the fly?

failing that, are there any media players that will?

rather than converting everything to 4 channel wav files first

thanks!
 

J. PUPSTER

๐Ÿ’ฟ๐Ÿ• Senior Disc Chaser ๐ŸŽธ
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2017
Messages
11,016
Location
CALIFORNIA (CENTRAL)
been reading/searching the site but haven't found anything related to this yet:

are there any plugins for Foobar or other media players, that will decode QS/SQ wav/flac files, on the fly?

failing that, are there any media players that will?

rather than converting everything to 4 channel wav files first

thanks!
Welcome in to the QQ, hereโ€™s a few links that may help:


 

ummagumma

Wild Boar at Pompeii
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
558
Location
Canada
thanks for the links!

will have to read up on configuring it for multichannel playback. a couple 4+ channel devices to choose from:

m-audio delta 66 with a 4ch breakout box
m-audio delta 1010

I have some quad LP's I plan to needledrop, and play via PC: saving wear and tear on the vinyl
 

J. PUPSTER

๐Ÿ’ฟ๐Ÿ• Senior Disc Chaser ๐ŸŽธ
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2017
Messages
11,016
Location
CALIFORNIA (CENTRAL)
thanks for the links!

will have to read up on configuring it for multichannel playback. a couple 4+ channel devices to choose from:

m-audio delta 66 with a 4ch breakout box
m-audio delta 1010

I have some quad LP's I plan to needledrop, and play via PC: saving wear and tear on the vinyl
Seems like several folks here have the 1010 and like it; Iโ€™ve been playing around with a MOTU UltraLite-mk4 via USB that works pretty well.
 

Mark Anderson

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
Messages
1,534
Location
aRMANIA
I use the maudio 1010 and it's great. Problem is what new mother board has the card slot that it would fit into. Ran into that problem a few years ago on a new windows 7 build and an Asus motherboard worked but on a new windows 10 pc I think that would be a challenge. Would love to hear otherwise for my next build with a 10 year old soundcard
 
Last edited:

Sonik Wiz

๐Ÿ‘‚ 500 MPH EARS ๐Ÿ‘‚
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
3,584
Location
Kansas City
I use the maudio 1010 and it's great. Problem is what new mother board has the card slot that it would fit into. Ran into that problem a few years ago on a new windows 7 build and an Asus motherboard worked but on a new windows 10 pc I think that would be a challenge. Would love to hear otherwise for my next build with a 10 year old soundcard
Like wise I use a Delta 1010 and also an ASUS Mobo from about 5 years ago. I chose it because it was the newest & best board I could get that still had a PCI slot.

Using Win 7 & I'm still very happy with the build. Itr's nice when everything works exactly as you want it, glitch free. Besides the Intel quad core (I forget the model number) it has a good SSD for OS & apps only, and 3, 4TB HGST drives for data. Besides simple data storage the basic idea if I'm upmixing, I am always reading from 1 drive & writing to another, with the 3rd drive being used for temp/cache. Plus 32 GB fast low latency RAM.

I'm sure when the time comes, a new PC build will mean a new soundcard. No doubt an outboard USB thingy like others have already gone to.
 

Sonik Wiz

๐Ÿ‘‚ 500 MPH EARS ๐Ÿ‘‚
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
3,584
Location
Kansas City
I grabbed my older PC and got it running instead

I wasn't aware this is a widespread problem: most new motherboards don't have PCI slots anymore?
Correct. When I did this build the Thunderbolt interface was a hot topic. That is for external connections but there's only so much room for PC stuff,literally, on the board and at a cost/value point. So that's when they started phasing it out. In fact my ASUS choice was between two otherwise identical boards, one with Thunderbolt & the other with PCI so I chose the latter.
 

Sonik Wiz

๐Ÿ‘‚ 500 MPH EARS ๐Ÿ‘‚
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
3,584
Location
Kansas City
Guys you can buy a pcie to pci adapter/riser board.
Thanks for the tip. I took a look at a few just now & the prices are certainly reasonable. Of the various choices that looked like what I might need I ran into this:

"Install half-height/low profile PCI interface cards in a standard PCI Express expansion slot. "

And there is the prob... the Delta 1010 is full size, not 1/2 height and using one of these it looks like it would not position properly on the back panel cut outs.
 

boondocks

Senior Surround Collector
QQ Supporter
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
2,737
Location
State of Being
Thanks for the tip. I took a look at a few just now & the prices are certainly reasonable. Of the various choices that looked like what I might need I ran into this:

"Install half-height/low profile PCI interface cards in a standard PCI Express expansion slot. "

And there is the prob... the Delta 1010 is full size, not 1/2 height and using one of these it looks like it would not position properly on the back panel cut outs.
I would keep looking.....
 

junh1024

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2012
Messages
30
are there any plugins for Foobar or other media players, that will decode QS/SQ wav/flac files, on the fly?

Try freesurround for foobar. It has a 4.1 mode, and might be competitive with your surroundmaster box. You can use the plugin in realtime.
 
Last edited:
Top