Recording Studio Monitor Speakers (Mono/Stereo/Surround)

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kfbkfb

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Since 2002/2003
Anyone know the characteristics of Studio Monitor Speakers
(frequency range, phase accuracy, dispersion etc.)?

If one wants to hear (close to) the original mix, using the
same speakers would be one step toward that goal.

Kirk Bayne

Kirk Bayne
Precisely the same point I made many years ago, only to be "shot at" (not shot down) by other members, can´t recall which ones, though...

Big believer in (yes, I KNOW that studios are calibrated by pros) "if you want to hear mostly what engineers and producers heard, studio monitors is the way to go..." ...well , that and I graduated from Music Production and Engineering in Berklee, so I think I may know what I am talking about; but only as far as MY opinion goes...

I saw that SW uses Genelecs (have never heard them in real life, though...have heard that they are one of the best) but , I know someone who works in the Audio world and he has Adam Audio AX7s which sound heavenly...

I have said it before and I will say it again, even if you leave a mix halfway done to finish the next day, it WILL sound different. Not only because your ears act as compressors and next day they will be fresh but also , atmosphere conditions will be different, so even if you have a replica of SW's studio, you will hear your version of the mix, and that is why so many members disagree on many MCH mixes and their EQ...that and many other factors but I hope you get my gist...

Precisely the same point I made many years ago, only to be "shot at" (not shot down) by other members, can´t recall which ones, though...