RIP Frank Kimbrough

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

humprof

Junior Senior
QQ Supporter
Last edited:
Thanks for making me aware of his work, loved it instantly. The way he playfully unravels the melodic elements in The Spins was masterful. The Monk track shows a giant talent with a normal sized ego engaging with the other musicians beautifully towards their reading of Monk's work. I've been listening to my best friend play piano for nearly 50 years; formally arranged pieces, improvisations and on the better days, that precious space in between. I plan to share Frank's music with him. Sad to find out about him at this stage but better than never having known.

Yes, I love his work on his earlier Mapleshade Records recordings, especially.

DITTO, I have a number of his spectacular Mapleshade Records recordings, as well.

See the source image

R.I.P. FRANK

See the source image

Last edited:
I just ordered this 6 RBCD box set from AmazonUS of Frank Kimbrough playing the COMPLETE Recordings of Thelonious Sphere Monk. Based on the ecstatic reviews, these interpretations encompassing all of Monk's 70 compositions sounds ultra enticing [priced VERY well as ImportCD is charging $66+]

https://www.amazon.com/Monks-Dreams...=music&sprefix=frank+kimbrough,aps,133&sr=1-1

It's an amazing set. (I bought the FLAC download version from Bandcamp when it came out.) Nate Chinen, who wrote both the liner notes and the obituary in my OP, is spot-on about Kimbough's approach.

I love everything I've ever heard Frank play: his solo records, his trio and quartet records, his duets with Joe Locke, his sideman work with Ben Allison and Maria Schneider (and others), all the Herbie Nichols Project stuff...his death is a huge loss.

Here's Kimbrough' own tribute to Andrew Hill:
http://www.andrewhilljazz.com/Frank-Kimbrough-bio.html