Ripping My Discs

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

ThomC

Well-known Member
Since 2002/2003
Joined
May 13, 2003
Messages
124
Location
NY
So I would like to rip the 5.1 audio off of the many discs I mixed back in the day.
(I never kept the original Hi-Rez files... Professional ethics and all that...)
Any MAC software that anyone could suggest would be appreciated.
I am looking to rip DVD-V (Dolby), DVD-A(MLP), and SACD(DSD).
I can go analog but I'm hoping there might be a more efficient way to do it.
 

Bender

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
267
Location
Carpinteria, CA
I know this is a bit odd, but as a Mac guy, I use VMWare's Fusion to change the mac to run as a PC, then use DVD-Audio Extractor and Cirlinca's HD Solo. It keeps working. I don't know what to do when that all dies with updates.
I ultimately rip to DVD-A, but once you get to extractor I think you have the file formats in anyway you like.
(btw- thank you for your hard work and excellent mixes on so many titles and tracks - I really appreciate it)
 

sjcorne

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
3,684
Location
Southern NY
DVD-Audio Extractor” is the way to go for all PCM-based formats (Blu-Ray, DVD-V, DVD-A). Though to rip Blu-Ray, you need an additional program called "MakeMKV" to get rid of the copy protection. You get a 30-day free trial of DVDAE, then it's a one-time fee of $35 for the software license. Totally worth it, IMO.

If you don't want to pay the fee, there is another free app called "DVD-Audio Explorer" that will rip any DVD-A to .MLP files, which can be converted to 5.1 FLAC or WAV with a variety of other programs (AudioMuxer, Foobar200, etc)

To rip SACD, you need a compatible Oppo or Sony Blu-Ray machine and a free java application called "SACD_Extract". See this thread for further details.
 

ThomC

Well-known Member
Since 2002/2003
Joined
May 13, 2003
Messages
124
Location
NY
hi ThomC :hi

we currently have the following mixes credited to you in the QQ list of Notable Multichannel Music Engineers


View attachment 40760

are there any other mixes of yours that we can add?
Ummm... Well it's been a really, really long time....
Shawn Colvin - Polaroids
Billy Joel - Essential
Jessica Simpson - ??? (a couple of things IIRC)
Luther Vandross - Dance With My Father
Rod Stewart - standards thing
Crossfade - Crossfade
Jennifer Lopez - ???
Mudvayne - ???
Korn - ??? DVD-V
Stevie Ray Vaughn - Couldn't Stand the Weather (might not have come out)
Some singles by Shakira, Incubus, Korn,
Um Um Um...A shitload of live stuff...
Who knows what else? I certainly don't remember!
I come on here to find out myself!
:)
 

marpow

QQ Lifetime Supporter
QQ Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jul 9, 2015
Messages
4,964
Location
San Mateo CA
I was looking for a thread to post what I am doing today. I need to get caught up on my ripping so today I have 6 SACD, 1 DVD-A, and 6 CD's. No problem I am good at ripping all formats.
My problem is I just can't seem to get my head around MQA. To the point I am just going to rip my 4 MQA discs as CD's.
I assume that if I rip to FLAC even though FLAC is a copy of what the rip is, it won't unfold the MQA, plus I don't have an MQA DAC.
For all the research I have done, you need a capable MQA DAC and only availabe as 2 channel DAC's.
If I just had a stereo only system it would be easy, but with a MCH system, I would need two DAC's. One the MCH DAC which is RCA into the MCH inputs of the AVR.
I think then I would need to put a MQA DAC, 2 channel, using XLR or RCA stereo inputs to the AVR.
The other option is a MQA streamer and just listen to what Tidal offers in there Master files, but I find hard discs ultimately better than any kind of streaming.
Oh well, thinking out loud here.
I have been stumped many times before.
 

4-earredwonder

QQ Lifetime Supporter
QQ Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
17,310
I was looking for a thread to post what I am doing today. I need to get caught up on my ripping so today I have 6 SACD, 1 DVD-A, and 6 CD's. No problem I am good at ripping all formats.
My problem is I just can't seem to get my head around MQA. To the point I am just going to rip my 4 MQA discs as CD's.
I assume that if I rip to FLAC even though FLAC is a copy of what the rip is, it won't unfold the MQA, plus I don't have an MQA DAC.
For all the research I have done, you need a capable MQA DAC and only availabe as 2 channel DAC's.
If I just had a stereo only system it would be easy, but with a MCH system, I would need two DAC's. One the MCH DAC which is RCA into the MCH inputs of the AVR.
I think then I would need to put a MQA DAC, 2 channel, using XLR or RCA stereo inputs to the AVR.
The other option is a MQA streamer and just listen to what Tidal offers in there Master files, but I find hard discs ultimately better than any kind of streaming.
Oh well, thinking out loud here.
I have been stumped many times before.
AFAIK, Markie, MQA is ONY two channel. I did note that even classical Norwegian Label, 2L, is releasing ATMOS BD~A's with an accompanying MQA encoded CD as are a few other labels. All I know at present, is that the OPPO 205 is the ONLY Universal player which decodes MQA.
 

Kal Rubinson

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
2,126
Location
NYC/CT
Oh well, thinking out loud here.
IMHO, MQA is not worth the bother.
AFAIK, Markie, MQA is ONY two channel.
I have a number of MQA multichannel recordings (as well as the hi-rez originals) and, even so, MQA is not worth the bother.
Yes, there is no currently ANYTHING that does MCH MQA.
There is but you have to make a great effort and expense to accomplish it. IMHO, MQA is not worth the bother in stereo and certainly not in MCH.
 

marpow

QQ Lifetime Supporter
QQ Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jul 9, 2015
Messages
4,964
Location
San Mateo CA
IMHO, MQA is not worth the bother.

I have a number of MQA multichannel recordings (as well as the hi-rez originals) and, even so, MQA is not worth the bother.

There is but you have to make a great effort and expense to accomplish it. IMHO, MQA is not worth the bother in stereo and certainly not in MCH.
I know you are right Kal. Many of the MQA's I have in SACD anyway. I think it is just the gear head in me that wants to conquer this issue. I am sure with time and money I would end up, like you, just not worth it.
Maybe just get the Sigma Streamer and be done with it. Listen to Tidal master when I have the MQA itch.
 
Top