Roku TV and Marantz SR5015 Sound Connection Issues: I'm willing to pay for someone's expertise....

QuadraphonicQuad Home Audio Forum

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad Home Audio Forum:

newslane

Senior Member
QQ Supporter
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
210
Location
Santa Fe, NM USA
Hi everyone,

I just bought a Roku TV, and I am having issues getting it to work correctly with my Marantz SR5015.

If someone has experience with this kind of set-up, PM me. I'm glad to pay your hourly rate.

I'm thinking we can do it using What'sApp. Thank you.

John
 

alansanchez86

400 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
Aug 18, 2019
Messages
484
Location
Monterrey, Mexico
I'm sure you'll be able to save that money for your apple music subscription, or for more Blu-rays, because there will be many of helpful fellas in here that can guide you through.
 

riskylogic

Well-known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2015
Messages
138
I'm guessing you are trying to get the surround from the Roku to the Marantz. Does your Roku support surround? My Roku stick doesn't. Also, it had better be an HDMI cable.
 

mrcond

701 Club - QQ All-Star
QQ Supporter
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
752
Location
Vernon, CT
Does your TV have an HDMI ARC or eARC jack? The Marantz has one and you should be sure to connect these 2 jacks together. Then there may be some menu settings you have to configure in each unit.,
 

newslane

Senior Member
QQ Supporter
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
210
Location
Santa Fe, NM USA
I'm guessing you are trying to get the surround from the Roku to the Marantz. Does your Roku support surround? My Roku stick doesn't. Also, it had better be an HDMI cable.
Thanks for your note.

I bought a new Roku TV. It has an ARC jack, and the Marantz has one, too. The TV tells me the ARC connection is live. And in the Marantz settings, I activated the ARC connection. Still no sound. I also can't seem to play surround music when I access the DVD player through the Roku. I only use the TV in my garage to watch while I exercise, and I can hook up a simple monitor to play music through my surround system.

I'll keep tinkering it with it until something shakes out.
 

newslane

Senior Member
QQ Supporter
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
210
Location
Santa Fe, NM USA
Does your TV have an HDMI ARC or eARC jack? The Marantz has one and you should be sure to connect these 2 jacks together. Then there may be some menu settings you have to configure in each unit.,
It's a new Roku TV. It has an ARC jack, and the Marantz has one, too. The TV tells me the ARC connection is live. And in the Marantz settings, I activated the ARC connection, but I still have no sound.
 

DuncanS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
6,962
Location
UK
It's a new Roku TV. It has an ARC jack, and the Marantz has one, too. The TV tells me the ARC connection is live. And in the Marantz settings, I activated the ARC connection, but I still have no sound.
I have a similar issue with my Pioneer SC-LX86 and a few TVs (Sony, Panasonic), eARC/ARC activated on the TV, yet I've never had sound come from the Amp (no matter what settings I change). Reading on-line it seems there is no guarantee that eARC/ARC will function between different manufacturers, its all rather hit and miss :(
 

newslane

Senior Member
QQ Supporter
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
210
Location
Santa Fe, NM USA
I have a similar issue with my Pioneer SC-LX86 and a few TVs (Sony, Panasonic), eARC/ARC activated on the TV, yet I've never had sound come from the Amp (no matter what settings I change). Reading on-line it seems there is no guarantee that eARC/ARC will function between different manufacturers, its all rather hit and miss :(
Good to know! That explains a lot.
 

DuncanS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
6,962
Location
UK
How many different incompatible standards do we have now?
HDMI/HDCP incompatible with itself!
1652732943303.png

Whatever happened to the aim in engineering and software were we designed things to have backwards compatibility? Not enough money in it I suppose!
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
4,734
Location
Melbourne, Australia
I’m not sure what you are trying to do. ARC/eARC adds audio return between a TV and AVR so your TV audio can play through your AVR’s speakers (TV and a smart TV’s apps).

Why do you need ARC for your Roku? The Roku is a player and needs just a output to one of your AVR inputs. Your DVD should be an input to your AVR not your Roku. Have I missed something?
 

mrcond

701 Club - QQ All-Star
QQ Supporter
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
752
Location
Vernon, CT
I’m not sure what you are trying to do. ARC/eARC adds audio return between a TV and AVR so your TV audio can play through your AVR’s speakers (TV and a smart TV’s apps).

Why do you need ARC for your Roku? The Roku is a player and needs just a output to one of your AVR inputs. Your DVD should be an input to your AVR not your Roku. Have I missed something?
I believe he means the TV itself is a Roku TV. I have a TCL TV that is marketed as a "Roku TV", meaning that the smart features of the TV itself are on a Roku platform.
 

quadsearcher

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Joined
Nov 8, 2010
Messages
1,030
What is the model number of the Roku TV?
Sometimes I can "read between the lines" of less-than-well-written owner's manuals, maybe.
 

tonyE

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2018
Messages
289
It's a new Roku TV. It has an ARC jack, and the Marantz has one, too. The TV tells me the ARC connection is live. And in the Marantz settings, I activated the ARC connection, but I still have no sound.

I recently bought a Roku Ultra. I hooked it up to our 8 month old LG OLED Web OS TV. Supposedly they both support all the latest bells and whistles. Even though my home LAN is all wired GigE with managed switches, I decided to hook up the "main" TV via an HDMI interface. The "best" one according to my LG.

The Roku did a handshake with the LG. Installed ARC and Dolby vision... whatever... no audio, the screen would flash every minute and the video quality sucked.

(1) The HDMI cable, which was two years old and works great when I connect my laptop PC to the TV works flawlessly... guess what? It doesn't work with the latest standards. So, I dug out a new "8K" cable, and the flashing worked.

(2) Dolby Vision sucks. Looks terrible. I always set my TVs to "cinema" mode but Dolby Vision overrides that. It sucks. It makes everything look cartoonish and disables user modes. Adios, junk...

(3) I ended up "down converting" the interface to a "plain jane" 4K TV. No Dolby Vision, no ARC, nothing else. Now it works fine.

The "standards" in consumer video are NUTS. Good luck. Try to avoid all the doodahs... just run it as simple as possible. Disable one thing at a time.
 

MidiMagic

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Joined
Jul 5, 2010
Messages
1,384
Somehow I am reminded of Johnny Cash:

- One Piece at a Time
- The One in the Middle was on the Left
 

jamesc

Well-known Member
QQ Supporter
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
120
Location
US
I love the idea of Roku TV but the ones I've encountered always seem sluggish and outdated. I usually just buy the mid-level Rokus when they're on sale for $25-30 and they've got all the features I'd ever use. Plug one of those into your AVR and you should be set. All those fancy features like eARC and CEC just end up driving me nuts so I usually turn them all off.
 
Top