Should a Q8 Include a Foil Strip?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JediJoker

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
I recently acquired a refurbished Akai CR-80D-SS in beautiful working condition so that I can expand my surround collection to Q8s. To test the unit and start my collection, I picked up a confirmed working Q8 of Average White Band's AWB, plus its stereo counterpart. The stereo 8-track definitely has a foil strip and will trigger a program change on the player. The quadraphonic one, however, will just play either program continuously without changing automatically. I haven't confirmed the presence or absence of a foil strip on the Q8, but given that I'm completely new to Q8s and 8-tracks in general, I figured I should ask: is a Q8 supposed to have a foil strip? Or do all Q8s require manual program changes?

Last edited:
There should be a foil strip just like the stereo tape, maybe the quad tape was repaired at one time and they just didn't use the foil.
Thanks for the confirmation that it should be there! This is what I'm thinking might have happened. Or, the foil simply delaminated at some point. The splice is audible when it moves past the playback head. The cartridge otherwise plays flawlessly, so for now, I think I'll just locate the splice and apply a replacement foil strip.

All 8 tracks tape are supposed to have the foil strip/splice for automatic track change.

As for myself I've repaired a few using just a regular splice. I only play my 8-tracks when I want I make a digital copy and so don't care about the foil splice or automatic track changing.

Some foil splices get sort of worn out. There might be foil there but need a new one. Happens with both my stereo and quad Akai decks.