Stone Temple Pilots Prep ‘Tiny Music…Songs From the Vatican Gift Shop’ Deluxe Edition

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

edisonbaggins

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Messages
8,796
Location
Wherever I May Roam
Just wasn't into them all that much. I checked out my CD collection which is ripped and only had 2 releases, Core and Self Titled. Surprised I didn't have Purple. I have tons of other grunge, just not much STP. I did recognize a few tracks off Tiny Music.
No. 4 is also worth checking out, IMO. The 5th album, not so much. S/T has some decent cuts, but fails to achieve classic status.
 

edisonbaggins

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Messages
8,796
Location
Wherever I May Roam
Does anyone else notice some massive volume differences between tracks on Tiny Music in atmos on Tidal? Particularly track 3. Way louder than the neighboring tracks. Major differences a couple other times on the album too.
 

LennonCobain

600 Club - QQ All-Star
QQ Supporter
Joined
Feb 24, 2014
Messages
622
Location
New England
No. 4 is also worth checking out, IMO. The 5th album, not so much. S/T has some decent cuts, but fails to achieve classic status.
Even though “Days Of The Week” was the biggest hit of their 5th album (Shangri-La Dee Da), “Coma” and “Dumb Love” are the best songs IMO and they rock!
 

dabl

300 Club - QQ All-Star
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Sep 1, 2003
Messages
365
Does anyone else notice some massive volume differences between tracks on Tiny Music in atmos on Tidal? Particularly track 3. Way louder than the neighboring tracks. Major differences a couple other times on the album too.
Yep. Mediainfo confirms the dialnorm for some tracks is way off. Have seen this on some other Tidal Atmos titles as well such as the recently release Dua Lipa "Future Nostalgia (The Moonlight Edition)". That one has, like, every other track with a whack dialnorm level.

I suspect this may be an encoding issue, would be interesting to know if the Apple Music files are the same as Tidal, ie both encoded by Dolby Labs. There's no way to get at the Apple files at the moment though to compare.

I'm not sure if Apple's use of Dolby MAT and features like 'Sound Check' handle radically different dialnorm values within an album or not. Those features are designed to mitigate the volume differences between stereo and Atmos tracks which we know has always been a big problem with Tidal tracks.
 
Last edited:

edisonbaggins

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Messages
8,796
Location
Wherever I May Roam

sjcorne

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
3,781
Location
Southern NY
This is, indeed, the version I was trying. I wonder if there is some setting in my Apple TV thinger that is preventing Atmos recognition? Kinda weird that they don't label "spatial audio" albums as such. No logo, no symbol, no note.
There is an audio settings screen where Atmos playback can be turned on or off. If that doesn’t work, make sure you’re updated to the latest OS.
 

edisonbaggins

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Messages
8,796
Location
Wherever I May Roam
There is an audio settings screen where Atmos playback can be turned on or off. If that doesn’t work, make sure you’re updated to the latest OS.
Since I recently swapped the apple 4k device off my tv with a stereo soundbar, I've reset it, in case it believes it's still using a soundbar. I couldn't find apple music from my fire stick 4k lol.
 

edisonbaggins

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Messages
8,796
Location
Wherever I May Roam
Yes, in that if someone wants stereo playback it’s available in lossless quality while Atmos is not lossless. A bit unclear.
Ah, goodness. Makes sense. I don't even see playback options. Just plays in Atmos, for me. Oddly, my AVR doesn't say DD+ like I believe it did for Tidal.
Some kind of trickery at play here. Or I'm confused. Or both!
 

EricKalet

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
QQ Supporter
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
1,104
Location
Yardley, PA
Ah, goodness. Makes sense. I don't even see playback options. Just plays in Atmos, for me. Oddly, my AVR doesn't say DD+ like I believe it did for Tidal.
Some kind of trickery at play here. Or I'm confused. Or both!
Does your AVR have an option to change the display?? Or display info??

For playback you can change your Apple TV settings to not play back in Atmos. That's the only way to toggle back and forth at this point.
 
Top