Surprising result using DVD Audio Extractor to rip Stereo Tracks

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LuvMyQuad

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
I've been ripping my audio collection to a NAS for a few years now. The first thing I ripped was my DVDA collection, and since I was new to the ripping life, I only ripped the surround tracks from my DVDAs. I wasn't sure how far the 4TB storage capacity was going to stretch. I then took little jumps forward acquiring the capability to rip BRDs and most recently, SACDs, and for those I started ripping the stereo and MC Hi Res tracks. But I never did rip the Stereo tracks from the DVDAs.... until this week.

I saw I didn't have ripped stereo versions of the three Steely Dan 5.1 studio releases, and that led to the realization that I never ripped any of the stereo DVDA tracks. So using DVDAE, I extract the stereo layers of Two Against Nature and Everything Must Go.... no problem. Both had an MLP stereo layer, EMG was 24/192 I believe. According to DVDAE, Gaucho contains a 24/96 LPCM stereo layer. I extract it to FLAC. DVDAE flew through the extraction process in seconds. It created a FLAC file for each track, but each track also has zero duration and zero size. If I try to play them, the player cycles through them one after the other just like it would if there was actually something in the files.

Perplexed, I ripped my Gaucho CD to the NAS and carried on. I get to my two Queen disks. Bohemian Rhapsody rips fine (24x96 2.0 MLP), then surprise, The Game has no dedicated stereo track at all. Only a 5.1 MLP track.