Surround sound software

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

JSFuller

Member
QQ Supporter
Joined
Nov 29, 2020
Messages
19
Location
Las Vegas, Nv
My pc has an hdmi output. If I play surround music on the pc, can I get the music from the hdmi out using an audio grabber connected to my surround reciever?
 

Kal Rubinson

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
2,126
Location
NYC/CT
Depends on the "grabber." If your AVR has an HDMI input, you can connect it directly to the PC.
 

winopener

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
4,013
My pc has an hdmi output. If I play surround music on the pc, can I get the music from the hdmi out using an audio grabber connected to my surround reciever?
Yes, look for 7.1 audio extractor. I have such a system and works ok after a little customization. Basically, the only "special thing" i had to do deal with the fact that on my pc chipset the hdmi port at boot it defaults to stereo; a small utility (auto3it) provides after boot the necessary moves to cpanel/audio/hdmi/configure/5.1/etc... in order to set it to quad output.

Further: WTB: Jethro Tull- Aqualung quad tape
 

jimfisheye

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
2,004
If the HDMI ports on both your computer and your AVR are unrestricted you can just connect them. You'll see the AVR as an available audio device on your computer. Some computers and AVRs have HDMI ports restricted to video only. You can try a thunderbolt port on the computer if you don't see the AVR connect on the HDMI port. (TB to HDMI cable) Try this first.

If you're trying to put another device in-between, results will vary case to case.

There's an example out there that defaults to stereo and doesn't respond to OS audio utility control for multichannel? Well, that sounds like a wild ride!

It's worth it to poke around a little as that example shows! It can be a little frustrating at first because most every combination of settings beyond the correct one just leaves everything silently mocking you.

Is the "grabber" for stripping off HDCP? That's the other thing. Sometimes this goes wild and silences legally owned media. "Better not play it just in case" or something.
 

JSFuller

Member
QQ Supporter
Joined
Nov 29, 2020
Messages
19
Location
Las Vegas, Nv
Yes, look for 7.1 audio extractor. I have such a system and works ok after a little customization. Basically, the only "special thing" i had to do deal with the fact that on my pc chipset the hdmi port at boot it defaults to stereo; a small utility (auto3it) provides after boot the necessary moves to cpanel/audio/hdmi/configure/5.1/etc... in order to set it to quad output.

Further: WTB: Jethro Tull- Aqualung quad tape
 

JSFuller

Member
QQ Supporter
Joined
Nov 29, 2020
Messages
19
Location
Las Vegas, Nv
Thank you. Much appreciated! I also learned that even tho my sound card was capable of 5.1, I needed to update the driver. It’s all falling into place.
 

jimfisheye

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
2,004
Thank you. Much appreciated! I also learned that even tho my sound card was capable of 5.1, I needed to update the driver. It’s all falling into place.
You should ultimately have two audio device choices for sound then. The pci sound card or the HDMI or thunderbolt connected AVR. (You'd need another choice for amps coming from the pci card of course vs the AVR. Like a receiver with analog inputs or DIY amp setup.)
 
Top