The Dreaded Saturation Point? (aka The QQ Support Group?)

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ar surround

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Have I reached the dreaded Saturation Point? It's a question I've been asking myself for the last several months. I lack zest for new surround sound releases of unfamiliar material. For example, the box set of The Band's Cahoots is being dumped by Amazon for $58, but I have no interest. I bought Moby Reprise for the Atmos mix. That was a one-and-done listen although I found it impressive. Ditto with the new Tull album. For whatever reason, stuff that wasn't embedded in my brain during my younger years just doesn't make an imprint because my music brain is saturated. All I really care about are what may be the next DV classic quads and Who's Next.

I'd rather listen to some familiar tunes upmixed to multi-channel by the Surround Master or whatever.

Anyone else go through this? Does it go away? Perhaps it's just old fart syndrome.

It goes away ... you'll catch the strains of an artist you haven't heard before and their passion will be infectious.
But yeah, I have gone through chunks of time where if I didn't hear it as a teen, I don't want to hear it now.

I'm feeling the same way. But I remind myself that I did discover the brilliant Yes Steve Wilson mixes by taking a chance and buying them. The prices were reasonable. Prior to that the only Yes song I was familiar with was Owner of a lonely heart.