Which are my options?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
R

roblov

Hi,

this is my first post here. I'm a newbie when it comes to quad sound.

I have the three Pink Floyd albums in quad format (Atom Heart Mother, The Dark Side of the Moon and Wish You Were Here.) Based on what i've read in the web, the stereo files i have contain matrixed 4-channel sound. What i'd like to do is to convert these files to the original quad sound and play them through a standalone DVD player with a 5.1 surround system.

Which are my options to achieve this?

Thanks,

roblov.

Hi,

this is my first post here. I'm a newbie when it comes to quad sound.

I have the three Pink Floyd albums in quad format (Atom Heart Mother, The Dark Side of the Moon and Wish You Were Here.) Based on what i've read in the web, the stereo files i have contain matrixed 4-channel sound. What i'd like to do is to convert these files to the original quad sound and play them through a standalone DVD player with a 5.1 surround system.

Which are my options to achieve this?

Thanks,

roblov.
Welcome, roblov.

Remember to avoid the D word here. (n)

They are likely to be dts-encoded CDs. You can burn them to CD-R and play with a player with a dts decoder or go digital from a regular Cd player to a pre or receiver with dts decoders.

You can also play them from your computer. There are several media players that can play dts recordings.

Enjoy!

If they are "Matrix Encoded" (i.e. stereo copies of the SQ encoded LPs) you will need an SQ decoder. There is a script that you can use if you have the program Adobe Audition to decode these files, but then you would have to encode them back to DTS or DVD-Audio to play them on your 5.1 system.