Why Hasn't Pink Floyd's The Wall Been Reissued on Surround Sound SACD?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Ralph, you must be really worried about Animals because you have written this post at 3:30 in the morning!
I believe Ralph is talking about The Wall tapes as it’s been reported that the tape was very fragile and needed baking. I’m not technically up on these things but I don’t understand how The Wall and most other albums have been “remastered” multiple times in the past or has that nothing to do with the master tapes. How did mofi do an “original master recording” version on gold CD without the tapes that are in bad condition?
Damn it I’ve gone off topic again! Let Animals roam free Woger!

How did mofi do an “original master recording” version on gold CD without the tapes that are in bad condition?

While I am in no way in a position to know, it's entirely possible that the original multitracks (or some subset thereof) are on problematic tape while the final master stereo mixdown is not.

It's the multi tracks that are in bad shape, not the masters (used for remastering and such).

If you think about the level of production they were doing at the time. Aggressive editing. Mixing and splicing in segue sections all over the place. Just all around pushing it.
In the best of conditions, these tapes might have been in fragile condition. Come to find out the tape stock was flawed to begin with...

Fingers firmly crossed! (Maybe don't hold your breath on this one though.)

... in time for its 75th anniversary knowing the way things work when it comes to Pink Floyd.

I really think Guthrie gave up on the remix.........by now those multis have melted!

See the source image

Last edited: