Strange flac issue - oddity (I think)

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JonUrban

Forum Curmudgeon
Staff member
Admin
Since 2002/2003
First off, let me just say that I am no expert in .flac files, tagging, and all this "new fangled stuff", but I am I believe smarter than the average old fart when it comes to this stuff. That being said:

I've been .flac'ing and tagging stuff for the car, and it's been going fairly smoothly. Thanks to Garry for updating the Music Helper program he wrote I no longer have to manually open every quad file in Sound Forge and add a blank center and LFE channel to make them compatible to the bizarre decoder in my Acura.

So, I decided to do a few Chicago Quadio's. I did Chicago (Second Album), VII, and IX. I figured that would be good stuff on my USB stick. So I already had the MKV files on my PC, so that saved me a step. I used AudioMuxer and got them easily to .flac. I then ran Garry's utility to add the empty C and LFE, and then I used Foobar to convert the 24/196 .flac files of unknown compression value to 24/48 zero level compression for the Acura. Not bad. Spent the time tagging them. Got the quad album graphics to put in there, and boom. Done.

WRONG! The car would not play them. Got the tags, got the quad LP covers, but no audio - file format not recognized. OK, I screwed up somewhere. Went back to SF, opened a file to look-see. Perfect 6 CH file, empty center and LFE, SF reports 24/48, no issue there. I actually had no known way to "see" the compression level, but I am sure I had that set to '0' in Foobar upon conversion because it's a saved setup. So what went wrong?