SACD Player Recommendation

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Saucerful

Forgive me, I'm a bit of a newb, but I'm looking for a cheap SACD player. If there's a reasonably priced SACD/DVD-A combo then that would be ideal but SACD is the crucial format.

I know this is probably sacrilege to many of you, but right now I'm just using the Logitech Z-5500 5.1 system, but at least it does have a 6-channel direct analog input. I have a PS3 too, but it's the 40GB model so it doesn't support SACD. This is mildly annoying, but knowing the PS3 won't pass through DSD over HDMI and there's no 6-channel analog output leads me to believe I'd want a proper SACD player anyway.

So I have these hybrid SACDs here collecting dust... I'd like to be able to hear some of my fave albums in 5.1. Any suggestions on a player that's decent? Again, I don't need anything fancy sound-wise, just something that's got 6-channel analog out and that's not gonna break.

Saucerful,

There is the Pioneer Elite DV-48 to consider for $99.88 (With free shipping).

http://www.vanns.com/shop/servlet/item/features/486974189/pioneer-dv-48av?s_c=site_search

another inexpensive universal player would be an Oppo. The 980H ($169.00) has analog 7.1-channel surround outputs and is compatible with 5.1-channel. It also has HDCD and plays PAL DVD's. It converts the DSD to PCM for SACD playback, so if that is a problem for you may want to look for a more expensive player. (I'm not sure if the Pioneer converts the DSD to PCM or not, perhaps someone else can chime in here.)

http://www.oppodigital.com/dv980h/dv980h_features.asp

The only hitches with the 980H are that some folks around here have experienced some playback issues. However with the firmware upgrades most issues have been resolved.

http://oppodigital.com/dv980h/dv980h-firmware-19-0722.html