Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: DTS problem on Media computer

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    8
    Level
    1
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 42
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default DTS problem on Media computer

    I have a problem. I have a couple movies stored on my computer,Computer feed tv VIA / HDMI.


    Problem is . DTS sound is very very bad. This issue is with dts only using VLC player and media player classic. Any help would be appreciated very much . Running Windows 7 - 64 bit.
    ATI 5400 Vid card .


    Steve

  2. #2
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star 0tto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,261
    Points
    14,110
    Level
    77
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 340
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DTS problem on Media computer

    can you clarify your definition "bad"?
    could be mix was done badly or could be setting in VLC
    for decoding of DTS need to be adjusted.

  3. #3
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,494
    Points
    7,203
    Level
    56
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 147
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DTS problem on Media computer

    Quote Originally Posted by voyager123 View Post
    I have a problem. I have a couple movies stored on my computer,Computer feed tv VIA / HDMI.


    Problem is . DTS sound is very very bad. This issue is with dts only using VLC player and media player classic. Any help would be appreciated very much . Running Windows 7 - 64 bit.
    ATI 5400 Vid card .


    Steve
    SurroundByUs.com would be a great place for this question as well.

  4. Thanks wavelength thanked for this post
  5. #4
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star wavelength's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,184
    Points
    9,851
    Level
    66
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 73.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DTS problem on Media computer

    Quote Originally Posted by DKA View Post
    SurroundByUs.com would be a great place for this question as well.
    Thanks for that url. I'm bookmarking that one for future reference. Looks like there is some very good tech info there.

  6. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    8
    Level
    1
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 42
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DTS problem on Media computer

    Best way to say it.... Very distorted . But it does it on all dts movies . I was thinking perhaps it could be a codec ?? Dolby sounds fantastic tho. I have a new denon receiver with 5 speakers including my Sub.

    All the DTS sounds overmodulated very bad . Now, playing a Blue-ray with Dts on my BR player is fine...

  7. #6
    at your sevice ma'am kap'n krunch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Madrid, Espaņa
    Posts
    2,300
    Points
    28,793
    Level
    99
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,207
    Overall activity: 53.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Blog entryOverdrive25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Community Award
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DTS problem on Media computer

    The new version of VLC was a really unwelcome surprise- the interface is totally different and just normal audio distorts- I have to turn down the "volume" in VLC for it to be tolearable...haven't tried any DTS stuff cause my rig isn't connected that way.
    Avatar: a Goddess...Capucine -...The Ice Queen
    -------------------------------------
    "LIFE is NOT in Stereo , it's in SURROUND, so why limit your music to stereo...? By that same train of thought we should've stayed in MONO..." -Me

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •