Automatic Total Mechanism Shut-Off (TMS) ?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tester333

So, I guess Sony's idea of "Automatic Total Mechanism Shut-Off (TMS)" is the small "rod", extending a couple of inches forward from the face of the deck, that causes the drive to shut OFF whenever there is no tape present?
Thanks.

It is my understanding that this rod is connected via a spring assembly to a switch which is not operative until the rod in under tension, ie has tape pulling it tight.

MTGC (Michael)

Thanks, mtgc. You've worded it more correctly.
The reason I asked about the TMS rod/switch is because I wish I had known
about it BEFORE I took the deck in for "repair". You see, I'm new to quads,
and I didn't realize that the drive mechanism was dependent upon this tape
-tension switch. So, when I first "tested" the deck I used an empty reel. Doh!
When the reel didn't turn I assumed it need some work done. Unfortunately,
the repair shop "technician" took advantage of me by making up some BS
story about how the lube/grease on the drive-mech was dried-up and was,
therefore, preventing rotation. I took him at his word, and forked over $133
($65/hr) for "maintenance". Couple of days later, I found the deck's "specs" on the net and quickly realized what the TMS function is all about.
Now I'm thinking I need to confront this technician about his unscrupulous
work-ethic. At the very least, he should refund half of what he charged.
What makes this whole thing worse is that I lost $ because the shop took