What advice would you offer a surround sound newbie in 2019?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

esimms86

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
I'll admit it. I'm a relative newbie when it comes to music in surround sound. I am old enough to be an experienced grey beard but I came to the party relatively late. I was fortunate to have a 5.1 system purchased for the enjoyment of movies and music, and I was especially fortunate to buy my OPPO player before OPPO left the player business. I was especially fortunate to live near a Circuit City back when they were in business, and that is where I purchased a fair number of my early DVD-As and SACDs. I later was able to stock up on a number of OOP discs before their prices reached 2019 levels(or, otherwise, were not made of unobtainium). Lastly, I was fortunate to have been able to purchase AF SACDs when they were still in print.

Now I ask myself, what advice would I give to a pop/rock fan just starting out in this hobby? The following is what I've been able to come up with thus far:

1)Get the best, multiformat compatible, up to date receiver you can afford.
2)Get the speaker system of your choice(yes, speakers are a personal taste) with your room characteristics prominently in mind. Try to match your speakers the best you can. And yes, I would start with a 5.1 system and add on from there according to your tastes and desires(and what your significant other is willing to tolerate in your living space!).
3)Get a player compatible with multiple formats. You may have to go on sites like eBay if the player you need is not currently in production.
4)Do your best to optimize your speaker placement for your room. Room treatment would also be nice if you can swing it.
5)Run to the Dutton Vocalion website and order away. That's right, go wild!