JVC 4dd-5 for total newbies!

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
C

captainwrong

Started this earlier topic, but after taking the thing out of the box, some of the calibration information makes sence.

However, I do have a specific problem. The Radar light stays on all the time, even when I'm not playing a record. Is that normal?

It sounds like I'm not getting any front/back seperation, either. Is trying to set this up with out a test record going to be an excercise in futility?

This thing is confusing the heck outta me.

The CD-4 radar light should only come on, and stay on, when a CD-4 carrier signal is present. Try unplugging all of your audio cables and powering it it up. If the light is still always on, we may have a bit of an internal problem. :mad: Whilst rotating the separation pots you should clearly be hearing the separation come and go. It's not strictly necessary to use a test record when setting up your demodulator. I think quite a few people just use a good CD-4 record instead.

The radar problem seems to be with my table. Specifically the right channel. When I unplug the right, the light goes off. Plug it back it, and there it is.

I thought maybe the cartredge was doing something funky, so I hooked everything up with the cart off and still got the problem.

Oddly enough, switching the cables so they're going in the opposite input also cures the problem.

I'm not sure what could be coming from my turntable with no signal and the cartredge removed that would trigger this in the right channel. Any thoughts?

What a bizarre fault ! I'm stuck! I'm sure you're satisfied that the turntable is performing perfectly i.e. you've checked the continuity of the cables running from the tonearm right up to the RCA jacks and is the grounding wire OK?