"My Little Town" in Quad - The 'Simon' and The 'Garfunkel' versions...

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fredblue

Surroundophile Extraordinaire
QQ Supporter
So, here's a curious one for you all to ponder..

I thought I'd compare the track "My Little Town" from the decoded SQ LPs of Art Garfunkel's "Breakaway" and Paul Simon's "Still Crazy After All These Years" albums (as it features on both albums in Quad) just for a laugh.. and blow me down but they're not identical..! :yikes

I'm not tech savvy to know the how's or the why's or the don't mind if you do's.. but... oh, here's some Pics..
and if you can help explain what the dickens is going on (or want to hear clips of the rips to compare them, then just drop me a PM?) I would be eternally grateful..!

Thank you!

Garfunkel Quad version on the Left, Simon Quad version on the Right..

Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 00.03.18.jpg

Garfunkel = LEFT... Simon = RIGHT..

Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 00.04.23.jpg

Garfunkel version...

Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 00.03.31.jpg

Simon version...

Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 00.03.51.jpg

In fact.. taking a closer look at the waveforms, is it my imagination, or is one of the entire sets of 4-channel files phase inverted relative to the other set..??

Just for the 'record'... :eek: ...these were transferred with the exact same equipment
(Pro-Ject Debut Phono SB Turntable / 2ch => Surround Master SQ Vinyl modded unit / 4ch => Motu interface via FireWire into Audacity)
with the same settings and nothing has been changed about either of them wrt stuff like EQ, channel assignment, etc..
these are almost entirely as they came off the LPs, with some minor manual click removal on the Paul Simon and no click removal on the Garfunkel version whatsoever.