Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

  1. #1
    Member Neb-Maat-Re's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    185
    Points
    4,484
    Level
    42
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    One of the very first DVD-A discs I created using Chrome was over 74 minutes of music at 24/96.

    I am currently trying to create a disc with less than 72 minutes of music at 24/88.2. Chrome shows it as just over 90% of the disc. I keep getting Error 56, not enough disc space.

    I still have the MLPs for the first disc and tried re-creating it. Chrome shows it at 96% of the disc space. This time I got the disc space error.

    But it worked once before - I still have it and it plays beautifully. How the hell did I do that the first time?

  2. #2
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star neil wilkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    4,040
    Points
    41,346
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 44.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Blog entry25000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    Have you got AutoMirror turned on, by any chance?
    If so - turn it off!!!
    Oh well, whatever - nevermind.

  3. #3
    Member Neb-Maat-Re's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    185
    Points
    4,484
    Level
    42
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    Thanks for the suggestion, Neil.

    Is that when it creates a Dolby version? I never use it.

    After playing around, I'm convinced I took the DVD-Audio files generated by Chrome before it fell over at the ISO stage, and built the ISO separately, probably with ImgBurn (remembering that it is vital to have the files in the correct order), but I have been unable to reproduce the result.

  4. #4
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star winopener's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,549
    Points
    23,897
    Level
    94
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 453
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    Think you've nailed it. It's 4 years that i haven't fired up Chrome but i do remember exactly this problem... and the workaround you're suggesting.

  5. #5
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star neil wilkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    4,040
    Points
    41,346
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 44.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Blog entry25000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    It's been so long since I used Chrome you could well be right.
    It was such a terribly buggy application at the best of times, not to mention almost unusably clunky.
    What build are you running, as a matter of interest?
    Oh well, whatever - nevermind.

  6. #6
    Member Neb-Maat-Re's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    185
    Points
    4,484
    Level
    42
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    I use build 6. I did try later builds, but found the discs I created with those didn't behave like CDs - that is, they didn't fast forward or reverse properly, just skipped around in big chunks.

    Was that important? Do I fast forward or rewind my DVD-As that much? Probably not, but I just felt that if that wasn't working, then there was something wrong.

    Out of interest, as a professional, what do you use to create a DVD-A using MLPs?

  7. #7
    Member Neb-Maat-Re's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    185
    Points
    4,484
    Level
    42
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    Thanks, winopener. Now if I could only remember how to make sure the files are burned in the correct order.

    I thought just manually arranging them in Windows Explorer would do the job, but there must be some other trick to it.

  8. #8
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star 0tto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,261
    Points
    14,110
    Level
    77
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 340
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    Neb-Maat-Re
    Now if I could only remember how to make sure the files are burned in the correct order.
    ImgBurn do not familiar with DVDA file structure. you may try DVDFab if your project is raw DVDA without
    cross navigation to VIDEO_TS directory but GEAR PRO Mastering Edition so far still sole best appz for such purpose.

    Sonic DVD-Audio Creator also remains single tool for professionally authored DVDA but this appz isn't user friendly.

    Neal do you know which DVD authoring program was used on DVDAs of Rush to make video parts?
    i'm particularly interested in ability to retain active menu navigation on screen, during songs playback.
    it seems like in DVDLab Pro no such option.

  9. #9
    900 Club - QQ All Star Ge Someone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    998
    Points
    10,652
    Level
    68
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 198
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranTagger Second Class10000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by 0tto View Post
    ImgBurn do not familiar with DVDA file structure
    ImgBurn from version 2.1.0.0 (2006) onward does try to correctly sort the files (physically) in the AUDIO_TS as well as the VIDEO_TS. Many times I had working results with it. At least give it a try, maybe on a DVD-RW first.
    Just create those two directories on your hard disk, fill them with the appropriate files and drag the directories to the files and folders window in ImgBurn.

  10. #10
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star 0tto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,261
    Points
    14,110
    Level
    77
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 340
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    are you sure about abilities of ImgBurn to shuffle the files in AUDIO_TS directory to DVDA specification?
    if i need to rebuild DVDA i use Gear Pro and have no complain. i do have ImgBurn 2.5 version but haven't
    heard this before and Neb-Maat-Re did stated above, he tried to build DVDA image in ImgBurn with no luck.
    there are some less picky players like OPPO, which reading the discs the way computers does it.
    so, even incorrectly done disc would work in those. but other, like Denon, Yamaha, Marantz, etc. wouldn't.

  11. #11
    Member Neb-Maat-Re's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    185
    Points
    4,484
    Level
    42
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ge Someone View Post
    At least give it a try, maybe on a DVD-RW first. Just create those two directories on your hard disk, fill them with the appropriate files and drag the directories to the files and folders window in ImgBurn.
    That's certainly what I've been doing - especially the DVD-RW bit.

    I'm convinced when I created the first disc back in Oct/Nov last year I manually sorted the files within the folder into the correct order first and that did the job first time, but perhaps that was just a fluke. Or did I find some way of forcing them to be in the correct order?

  12. #12
    Member Neb-Maat-Re's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    185
    Points
    4,484
    Level
    42
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    Thanks, 0tto - I think I will give Gear Pro a shot.

    I've made a few attempts at the ImgBurn method without success. It's just frustrating when I got it to work once before!

  13. #13
    Member Neb-Maat-Re's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    185
    Points
    4,484
    Level
    42
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    Well, Gear Pro did the trick, so thanks for that.

    However, it appeared I could only compile straight to disc and I couldn't create an ISO image, or was I missing something?

    Now, if only there was another way to create the DVD-Audio files, and I could lose Chrome altogether.

  14. #14
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star 0tto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,261
    Points
    14,110
    Level
    77
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 340
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    after you placed everything you need in project, go to "project" in top menu and
    scroll down to "convert volume to physical". that's will make image file of your disc
    onto HDD. you'll find it in the previously designated directory with file extension .dv1
    just rename this extension to .iso same way you doing with image created by DiscWelder

  15. #15
    Member Neb-Maat-Re's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    185
    Points
    4,484
    Level
    42
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: DVD-A only disc using over 90% of disc space - How the hell did I do it?

    Brilliant - thanks, 0tto!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •