CD-4 Demodulator for Strain Gauge Technics/Panasonic EPC-460cm4 Cartridge?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sjaca

Hi there, new to the forum.

I've just acquired an EPC-460cm4 strain gauge cartridge for its "strain gauge" characteristic rather than its cd-4 capability. I will only be using this cartridge to play my records in stereo. I understand that I require either a Technics SH-400 or Panasonic SE-405 demodulator given the strain gauge & cannot use another demodulator (eg. JVC, Marantz). I also understand that the Technics demodulator is superior in quality to the Panasonic. Is there anyone who could assist me re the above based on their knowledge of or experience with Technics/Panasonic cd-4 strain gauge cartridges & related demodulators as I am a novice in this area?
Any assistance would be very much appreciated.

Further, does anyone know where I might acquire the requisite demodulator & a price I should be looking to pay?

Thank you again

You are correct. Other demodulator brands will not work with your strain gauge cartridge, and I have owned most of them over the years. Panasonic units come up from time to time, but I have not seen many Technics units. If you are not in a hurry and you can afford the price, Lou Dorren's new demodulator is supposed to work with strain gauge pickups ... and I expect that this might be the best quality unit you will find in terms of sound quality. Do a search of this site. There is a LOT of information here.