Marantz CD-400B problem

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rxc

Hi there. I am a newbie to this group, and I hope that someone can give me some ideas. I have a Dual 1249 turntable and a Marantz CD-400B demodulator, but am having problems with the Marantz. The turntable is putting out a good signal, but it is not getting thru the phono-preamp section of the CD-400B. The light on the front of the unit comes on as normal, but nothing comes out of the 4-channel output. When I look at the direct 2-channel output, I see the direct signal from the turntable. Having read a few posts on this group about recapping projects, I suspect that maybe the CD-400B needs to be restored. Has anyone else seen anything like this?

Thanks in advance for any insights.

Ralph Caruso

Welcome to the wonderful world of quadraphonic sound reproduction. You will find in this Forum a group of knowledgeable people on almost any facet of 4 channel sound reproduction.
A few questions about your setup. How long have you had this setup? What are you using as an amplifier for the CD-400B? If the radar light comes on, usually that indicates that at least the decoder portion of the CD-400B is working properly, and if you get a signal when you set the CD unit to direct, then at least portions of the wiring within the CD unit are good. Have you tried putting signals into the aux inputs to see if you get any output from the CD unit? Also, although I am not sure, I suspect that the CD unit has a relay that operates to supply 4 channel outputs, so you might check that relay and see if it is operating properly, and also give it a dose of De-Oxit contact cleaner.

I am sure that some of our Marantz guru's will step in with much better advice than mine, but at least here is a place to get started.

Good luck and again, welcome to the wonderful world of quadraphonic sound reproduction.

MTGC