Masterwork (not works) SQ-43 Turntable with SQ Decoder?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elecuyer

Hi Everyone.

I'm not an audiophile or a quad enthusiast. I am a musician and have some knowledge in recording/audio - and I have a mystery.

I'm in the process of cleaning out my parents' home, where they have lived since 1971. As long as I can remember, they had a Masterwork SQ-43 Turntable. They think they purchased it (along with a receiver/amplifier/8-track, long discarded) at Lechmere in Dedham MA.

As far as I know, it works fine. However, I have no way to test it. Pictures attached. I also found two SQ records (Annie, and Tchaikovsky Swan Lake) to go with it.

I have scoured the web looking for any information on this device and have come up completely empty. Nothing. I found this forum (which does have lots of useful and interesting information on quadraphonic systems), so I thought I would ask here.

Basically, I want to know do I:
- Keep it, because it's cool.
- Sell it, because it's collectable/usable (and if so, I would like to see it go to a good home.)
- Toss it, because it's a POS.

20150709_134729.jpg
20150709_134757.jpg
20150709_134826.jpg
20150709_134918.jpg
20150709_134933.jpg
20150709_134950.jpg

Last edited:
Hi Everyone.

I'm not an audiophile or a quad enthusiast. I am a musician and have some knowledge in recording/audio - and I have a mystery.

I'm in the process of cleaning out my parents' home, where they have lived since 1971. As long as I can remember, they had a Masterwork SQ-43 Turntable. They think they purchased it (along with a receiver/amplifier/8-track, long discarded) at Lechmere in Dedham MA.

As far as I know, it works fine. However, I have no way to test it. Pictures attached. I also found two SQ records (Annie, and Tchaikovsky Swan Lake) to go with it.