Sansui QRX 9001 question

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
First let me start off and say Hi!!! I am new to Quad's I did have one in '75 that my dad gave me as a Christmas present. And from what I remember it sounded great.
So now fast forward 36 years and I have my second one. It is a lot better then my first, though this one probably cost 20 times more. So no real comparison.
Well my question,
I have this QRX 9001 that when I play in SQ, QS, Surround and Hall some SQ records and some songs on FM stereo sound distorted,muddy. Especially from the rear speakers, but if I switch to CD-4 it gets louder and clearer.

Could this be my Decoder board?

Is the CD-4 decoder board separate?

Does this sound like I have to do a QRX 9001 up grades and The Holy Grail alignment?
All and any help needed and will be appreciated. I want to really hear how Quad is supposed to sound like.

Richard

Hi Richard, and welcome to QQ. All of the decoder boards and all of the matrix and the CD-4 switches are connected to the 2-sided circuit board sometimes call the Quad Board. This is were i think your troubles began. This is the board in my opinion gives theses receivers the most trouble. The 9001 has it's own separate CD-4 board located under the 9001. But it runs most of it connections through the 2-sided circuit board especially for the 2 channels you would be using for stereo if you are planning to play records for SQ or QS decoding. There are a lot of users on this board who know more about the 9001 than i do and hopefully they will give you more information about it. You can also search the board for more information about this and what has to be done to solve your problems. I hope this helps. Jay