Top BR's to get for sound-music titles

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peterzach

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Since 2002/2003
I'm new to the BR crowd and was wondering from those that have had BR for a while what would you rate as the best ones to get for sound(best surround titles).
I only have 4 so far and can only comment on 2 as haven't gotten to the other 2 yet.

Elton at 60-Video-top notch and sound is pretty good. Video at 10 and sound about a 8.
Iron Maiden Flight 666-Video top notch but sound would rate low. Video 10 Sound-5. To much crowd noise mixed in,vocals buried and music sounds brickwalled to me, not enough seperation. A big let down for the surround mix for me.

Have Rush Snakes and Arrows and Led Zepp-Song Remains the Same to get to next.

I didn't know the Iron Maiden title even exists but the rest of the titles you mention I own and would recommend. Last I checked several Image Entertainment concert Blu-ray discs were available for $7.99 at Amazon.com incluing Roy Orbison "Black and White Night" which is a favorite of mine.

Chris

I have to say the I am generally disappointed in the use of surround for the Blu Ray music titles to date with the exception of a few titles that were originally mixed for DVD (Roy Orbison's "Black and White Night" is notable) - nothing else AFAIK as discrete as Eliot Scheiner's exceptional live concert work.

That having been said, there are several titles I would recommend that even though they are primarily "concert style surround mixes"-audience and "room" in the rears, the 5.1 DTS HD MA codec can be quite engrossing. In order of preference;

1. Return To Forever "Returns - Live At Montreux 2008"
2. Jeff Beck "Performing This Week Live at Ronnie Scott's"
3. Chicago/Earth, Wind & Fire "Live At the Greek Theatre"
4. k.d. Lang "Live In London with the BBC Concert Orchestra"