Using guitar amps for quad?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tester333

OK, I guess this is probably an "unconventional" approach, but I'm new to quads, so let me throw this out for your consideration. Just for listening purposes, I'm considering using 4 small Fender guitar-amps for each channel. I already have two 15W Fender amps, and they're pretty cheap, so I'm considering getting two more. They actually sound pretty good--nice flat frequency response, plenty loud, etc. So, is this approach unsound for any particular reason? Thanks.

It is my understanding that guitar amplifiers are intended to add character to the instrument they amplify. I'd have to hear it to believe that it's a flat response.

Could be an interesting listen, although I think you might lose quite a bit of "detail"!

Well, I expect that a "flat" response is largely achieveable by simply turning the treble, bass, middle, contour, etc, dials down to zero.

I would think that a guitar amp would be unsuitable simply because it's not designed for "hi-fi" parameters such as low distortion, low noise and accurate frequency response through the audio frequency range

Well, I expect that a "flat" response is largely achieveable by simply turning the treble, bass, middle, contour, etc, dials down to zero.

I believe that if you tried several different amps with their knobs all at zero (or at 50%) that you would get several different responses.

Whereas a P/A system is supposed to reproduce the source at a much louder volume WITHOUT adding (or removing) character, a guitar amplifier is SUPPOSED to add character.

I don't know what you think about it, but most guitar amplifiers have presence tone and other things which create a wonderful sound for guitars but I think they actually sound bad for other instruments, especially vocals. In fact they have only woofers