Why We Collect

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I’m not a collector, I’m a preservationist! Of course my large collection would be given away or disposed of when I pass. Just taking up space as far as my wife is concerned. I started collecting in the early 70s so I can identify with many aspects of the video. Napster is where the sea change occurred IMHO. Big expensive box sets aren’t helping the situation.
848F2882-3991-4693-8090-62EF0BF6F411.jpeg

I collect Multichannel Mainly because I love the music. There is nothing more liberating than taking an amazing journey as you are smothered in sound. IMHO, there is no comparison between a stream and a physical disc. I have been collecting Multichannel for over 20 years, that said, my collection value has outperformed my stock portfolio.

Quite a few great posts. Whenever I feel that I have everything, I visit someone's house or see a pic or video. Steve has a great collection and I'm sure that's just the tip of the iceberg. For those of you who say "she has everything," I don't have 3/4 of what Steve has depicted. Some wonderful hours of exploration...

Bought my first adult record at 3. It was a 78. A sea shanty, no less. Vince Martin & the Tarriers (incl Alan Arkin.) I've been collecting for 65 years in 2022!

As much as I talk of 2ch and mono titles, I fell hopelessly in love with Quad when I first heard it demonstrated in my own house!! Two Chicago FM stations simulcast Quad. One did the fronts, the other did the rears. Hooked! Really, it was just the logical progression of my love of 2ch. In 1962, my Dad bought a stereo. No more mono. Although my allowance could scarcely stand an extra $1, I gladly paid it for 2ch LP's. Ditto for Quad ten years later.

Although I couldn't afford a Quad system. That was corrected immediately after college. I had already begun collecting Quad LP'S during college.