How often is stuff reprinted?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boatofcar

I'm new to the surround scene, but I love it. What I don't love are the prices on the secondhand market! For those of you who have been around for a while, how often do recordings come back in print? I'm thinking specificially of SACDs--the Steely Dan catalog, Avalon...do I have a prayer of these coming back into stock?

I'm new to the surround scene, but I love it. What I don't love are the prices on the secondhand market! For those of you who have been around for a while, how often do recordings come back in print? I'm thinking specificially of SACDs--the Steely Dan catalog, Avalon...do I have a prayer of these coming back into stock?
First of all, welcome to the world of surround music! I think lately there has been some more efforts to reprint these older SACD titles via a couple labels (analogue productions, sony japan etc.) but I think it tends to only happen with more popular well known titles that have a lot of demand (such as Toto's IV, or Pink Floyds Wish You Were Here for example). As far as those more popular titles go, you really never know what's going to get reprinted. I wouldn't really hold my breath for the Steely Dan 5.1 stuff and Avalon being reprinted as they have both had recent stereo only SACD reissues that could've both easily had a 5.1 mix on them but had it omitted for whatever reason.

I saw that-I was so excited to get an email from Acoustic Sounds saying there were Steely Dan reissues, but only in stereo 😕 Why not 5.1???
Honestly not sure. Could be a million different reasons. From what I know about Analogue Productions though, I'm sure they tried to get it on there. Was likely out of their hands.

And thank you for your welcome 🙂
No problem! It's a hobby that's truly a journey, and something I always enjoy to hear others getting into as well.