Tube Amps

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dsk3331/disc rider

If appropriate on the site, as a Newbie I wanted to ask if anyone is familiar with the Jolida JD 502B tube amp and if so, can you let me know your thoughts as to its performance capabilities, etc.
Thanks much!

The love of tube amps always make me smile... as a young teen, my first ever record player, one of those 1950s suitcase portables... had tubes, and all I remember of it was the smell (which I actually liked - it became a part of the listening experience) and the fierce heat that thing would kick out after an LP or two.

I assume they've improved since then :)

The love of tube amps always make me smile... as a young teen, my first ever record player, one of those 1950s suitcase portables... had tubes, and all I remember of it was the smell (which I actually liked - it became a part of the listening experience) and the fierce heat that thing would kick out after an LP or two.

I assume they've improved since then :)
I should hope they have improved since the old days. Ha.

Many modern designs haven't changed a lot since the old days because they work and sound good. They say it's hard to make a bad sounding tube amp. High end designs usually use high end (expensive) components in their construction. I found tubes best for phono preamps, I'm using a design form Audio Amature magazine "Daniel" designed by Joe Curcio. It's similar to an AR design using solid state regulators, so is really a hybrid design. The system in my rec room uses push pull KT88's driven by 6SN7's for mid/high frequency amplification.

Never had Jolida amps, but the others I have owned just don't have any balls. Even when used with 105db efficiency speakers they could not deliver punch, transients, slam, volume to recreate a live event.

In the late 90's I was really into high end car audio.