FLAC issues

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lensflair

I don't know if this is the right place to post this, so please let me know if it isn't.

I am relatively new to surround music, and only somewhat computer literate.

I have a Sony ubp-x800m2 dvd player. It is supposed to play FLAC files if put on a flash drive, and played through the USB port. I have bought a couple of titles, and it indeed works perfectly. However, I had a friend send me some FLAC files that he ripped from the original source, and these do not. I opened them with Audacity, and that program sees them in 6 channels without a problem. But even exported from Audacity in FLAC, my DVD player still does not recognize the files. Is there anything I can do, or save them in a different manner without losing sound quality? I have no idea what the problem is. My friend doesn't either.

Oh, and I am on a Mac, if that might be the issue.

I don't know if this is the right place to post this, so please let me know if it isn't.

I have a Sony ubp-x800m2 dvd player. It is supposed to play FLAC files if put on a flash drive, and played through the USB port. I have bought a couple of titles, and it indeed works perfectly. However, I had a friend send me some FLAC files that he ripped from the original source, and these do not. I opened them with Audacity, and that program sees them in 6 channels without a problem. But even exported from Audacity in FLAC, my DVD player still does not recognize the files. Is there anything I can do, or save them in a different manner without losing sound quality? I have no idea what the problem is. My friend doesn't either.