I need CD-4 help?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
R

ranzy

I am new to owning a quad system. I grew up listening to quad because my dad bought a Pioneer QX-747 and a Pioneer PL-120 turntable which has an S-Shaped Tonearm w/ Lateral Balance Weight & an Audio-Technica AT12s Diamond Shibata Stylus (Tapered Cantilever) w/ a Dual Magnet Cartridge.

As a kid I can remember listing to records with him and he pointed out to me the 4 channel separation. I didn't really understand how a record could produce 4 channel separation, (I did understand stereo records) but I thought quad was cool. When I was in my early 20's I helped my dad replace his QX-747 with an Onkyo stereo amp, but never really wondered why he was replacing his old amp. He kept the QX-747 in the closet because he just couldn't part with it for some reason. At some point after that I did find out that it was broken, but I didn't really care about it too much. My father passed away on July 4, 2002 and I inherited some of his stuff. (Now I care about it) My mother is just fine but didn't want the old receiver or the record player, or even the Pioneer 8-Track player for that matter, so she gave them to me, along with all his 45's, albums and 8-track tapes.

I am self taught board level repair type of a guy, so I first found that the phono pre-amp and power supply were defective and this was the reason that my dad quit using the receiver. I was able to repair a couple of cold solders on the power supply and replace a few transistors on the preamp and I was off and going with the old system.