JVC 4DD-5 - Canadian unit to Australian mains

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crik

Hey everyone. I've been getting quite seriously into quad recently, and have finally received my JVC 4DD-5 in the mail from Canada (I'm in Australia).

Although I haven't yet bought a cartridge suitable for CD-4, I'm eager to try out the unit as a pre-amp since that's all I can do with it at this stage.

I want to make sure I don't blow it up simply by plugging it into an Australian mains socket though. Switching to 240V seems simple enough - just a matter of shifting the jumpers over so that the arrow points to 240V (see image 1). I assume I got that part right, but of course please correct me if I'm wrong.

Is this the only thing I need to change? The thing that I'm wondering about is whether 50/60Hz is something I need to be aware of as well (I'm by no means an electrician obviously).

The other problem is adapting the plug. It seems to fit in two different places on the adapter I have (see images 2 and 3), but I would assume that I'm only meant to use one of those two. Also, am I right in thinking that the plug can be inserted either way around?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Attachments

• image 1.jpg
    image 1.jpg
    121.7 KB · Views: 108
  • image 2.jpg
    image 2.jpg
    70.8 KB · Views: 103
  • image 3.jpg
    image 3.jpg
    63.1 KB · Views: 111
Hi, I live in Italy and we've got 220(240)/50Hz and own an USA 4dd-5 (mine doesn't have that voltage switch inside, I had to plug it to a voltage adapter)
You should work ok, voltage is correct and your 4dd-5 works fine both in 50 or 60 Hz. For those adapters, there is no difference from the two but I prefer the second which looks "tighter".

Thanks for your help, Lucanu! :)