Harmon Kardon 8+ and thoughts on other decks

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

qued

I'm just starting out with Quad, but I was just able to procure the second main piece of gear for my new system - a Harmon Kardon 8+ for $85US. From what little I've been able to read about it, it looks like it's going to be a decent deck, but I was wondering what others here thought. Anybody else here using one of these? I'm guessing that spending some money for a better quality Q8 player will pay off in the long run, but I haven't been able to find a list of the better decks. What other higher end Q8 players should I keep an eye out for, and is there a "holy grail" of Q8 players like the Sansui QRX-9001 is of receivers?

While I don't have experience with very many decks, the Harmon Kardon 8+ is the best deck I've ever used. From what I've read around here from others that also have one, it is certainly one of the best, if not the best Q8 deck out there.

I prefer the Akai CR 80D-SS which I believe is the absolute best in 8 track playback and record.
Just my opinion.

MTGC (Michael)

I have a few, including one that was recently refurbished by Quad Bob!! I like it a lot, and got rid of my Technics and Akai because I preferred the HK. Not that those were not great machines, they were just too big and I don't need to record Q8's.

I say you got "a great deal"! :D

I like my Akai much better than the Technics.

The Technics is definitely the looker of the bunch, even having noise reduction but if a tape got even the slightest bit tight, the Technics would drag. Even with a new belt and a good lube, the motor in it just couldn't cut the mustard.