Newbie needs some input.

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shred Zeppelin

Hello everyone, I'm new to the quadraphonic world and I'm looking for some input. Currently I have a Technics SL-1200 M3D connected to a Rane TTM-56 mixer, which in turn is connected to a Sony TA-AX390 Acoustic Controlled Amplifier. Also connected to this amp is a Sony TC-WR97ES dual cassette deck. I recently acquired some quad LP's and want to use them to the fullest extent, so, what do I need to add to my current setup to be able to run in quadraphonic mode? Any help is appreciated and I thank you for your time.

-chad-

Shred Zeppelin said:
Hello everyone, I'm new to the quadraphonic world and I'm looking for some input. Currently I have a Technics SL-1200 M3D connected to a Rane TTM-56 mixer, which in turn is connected to a Sony TA-AX390 Acoustic Controlled Amplifier. Also connected to this amp is a Sony TC-WR97ES dual cassette deck. I recently acquired some quad LP's and want to use them to the fullest extent, so, what do I need to add to my current setup to be able to run in quadraphonic mode? Any help is appreciated and I thank you for your time.

-chad-

Howdy,

Can't say I'm familiar with any of your equipment, so I'll keep my answer general. The short answer is: it depends on the format of your quad records.

If your quad albums are SQ or QS (matrixed) quad formats, then all you need is something to decode the multichannel information, and of course amplification and speakers for four channels, ideally matched.

SQ and QS are two different (at the time, competing) matrixed formats that encode additional channel information using phase differences (this is a grossly oversimplified explanation... but that's about as well as I understand it), much like Dolby Pro Logic.