Player suggestions for quad setups

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi,
I'm also new to Dolby Surround Theme and face a lot of variatons and systems. Hard to follow.
I have modified my old JVC 5436's and GX500 and SEH405, so I can play my recorded CD-4 Vinyl's (with carrier) from several media players (wav 192/24).
I gave the JVC's also a (internal) SQ decoder. Now the carrier signal switches automatical between CD-4 and SQ. (The JVC's got also 3 more matrix systems.)

Now I found a lot of offical downloadable (YouTube) 4.0 and 5.x music. But they need a media player with 4 or 6 analog out.
Oppo is a possible, best solution if you can get one. A member here (Mackspower) gave me the hint to the (old) Dune HD Max, so I bought one ($ 200), gave it a 2TB disc, and the trouble began:
It plays all multichannel wav at half speed. So I looked around for an Audio-HDMI to 6 RCA's to use a newer player, but didn't find. But I found some 5.1 players with analog out and asked a chinese manufacturer, who offers also wav 4.0, if it's really working, and it is.
AYINO stated: "You need 4.0CH output, it is recommended to choose hd920 ($ 120) and/or hd950 ($ 150), chip processing separation is better. thank you"
and the long link: https://de.aliexpress.com/item/4001184212010.html?pdp_npi=3@dis!USD!US $169.00!US $118.30!!!!!@2140d31d16828253948663113e5bb4!10000015179291428!im!!&gatewayAdapt=glo2deu

This weekend I discovered that the Dune plays all multichannel flac without problems and it plays also ISO files. But no multichannel wav. But it plays my CD-4 recordings in 192/24 wav without problems.
So I connected the front and rear channels to the 4 ch JVC tape play (line in, behind/instead the matrixes) inputs and have the 4.0 stream on my normal 4 speakers, also with bass from rear. And separation is very good, no mix.