Quad noob

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gdog0622

I apologize if what I’m about to ask has been discussed before or if I’m posting in the wrong spot.
I am brand new to audiophile equipment and quad. I found a pioneer qx-949a in the scrap so I want to use it.
I’m slightly confused on these coding and decoding things. From my understanding CD-4 is not coded? While SQ and QS are coded and need to be decoded?
I believe my receiver already has the deciding features so that isn’t something to worry about?
Also is it even possible to use my qx-949a as the center for an entertainment setup?
I enjoy watching shows and videos that are in stereo so is there someway to process it to play through 4 channels?
Also is it actually necessary to have a computer just to process the quad sound from the internet? It might be a while before I can afford an 8 track player or record player so I want to know if I can somehow play the quad sound from online.
Again I apologize if I’m asking too much or if I’m asking dumb questions. I’m brand new to both quad and vintage audio.

I apologize if what I’m about to ask has been discussed before or if I’m posting in the wrong spot.
I am brand new to audiophile equipment and quad. I found a pioneer qx-949a in the scrap so I want to use it.
I’m slightly confused on these coding and decoding things. From my understanding CD-4 is not coded? While SQ and QS are coded and need to be decoded?
I believe my receiver already has the deciding features so that isn’t something to worry about?
Also is it even possible to use my qx-949a as the center for an entertainment setup?
I enjoy watching shows and videos that are in stereo so is there someway to process it to play through 4 channels?