Problem with Adobe Audition 5.1 session output

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

humprof

Junior Senior
QQ Supporter
Looking for some help from the Adobe Audition experts. I'm new to Audition--using the latest perpetual-rental version, 24.2, which I get for free through my school--on a Windows 11 PC, and I can't seem to get a Multitrack Session to output a 5.1 file as 5.1. (The problem: it keeps giving me a stereo file in a 5.1 container.)

If I open my 5.1 FLAC file (actually 4.0 with silent C & LFE) as a file and then save it as a file, it's fine. But if I open it in a Multitrack Session (in order to apply some effects or plugins, say) and then try to output the Mix Track (what Audition used to call the Master, I gather) as a 5.1 file, what I get instead is stereo in the FL & FR of a 5.1 container. I've scoured the web, Adobe's online Audition user manual, and the Adobe Community forums trying to figure out where I've gone wrong and I'm still scratching my head. Anyone have any ideas of where I might be going wrong?

Here's what I've been doing:
  • File > New Multitrack Session [no Template; set Sample Rate and Bit Depth to match the source file(s) I plan to import into the session, choose "5.1" Mix]
  • File > Import > [my 5.1 file]
    • (That file, now a "track," is routed to the Mix Track by default, but I always check to make sure)
  • Set the Mix Track output to "5.1 > Default" (it then displays as "Default Surround Output (5.1)")
  • Apply any desired effects and/or plugins to the Mix Track
  • File > Export > Multitrack Mixdown > Entire Session
    • In the popup window that opens, specify a file name, location, and format (FLAC); edit/change Format Settings and Mixdown Options if necessary
The resulting mixdown file comes out as a stereo file (FL & FR channels) in a 5.1 container.