QRX-5500A in the house!

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spaceman

Hi folks, I'm still a newbie yet to quad, & still haven't actually got things hooked up too well yet, lol, but today I made a HUGE step in the right direction. A good friend aquired a beautiful QRX-5500A for me, & dropped it off today. Here's a link to some nice pics, in case you're not familiar. www.hifi-museum.com/temp/SansuiQRX-5500A_p.htm I have an important question, regarding speakers. I've read the specs sheet, & see that it's rated to handle 4 ohm speakers, but that's only listed for 2-channel, as far as I can see. All the 4-channel ratings look like 8 ohm, so I'm trying to verify if it'll be safe to use 4x 4 ohm speakers. Now the speakers that I'm hoping to use, are a pair of Genesis IIs, rated at 4 ohms, and a pair of EPI 100s. The EPIs say "nominal" 8 ohms, (at their site) but also have a 4 ohm rating. I've read before that you don't want to use 4x 4 ohm speakers on a normal 2-channel amp, so I'm trying to figure out if the same is true for quads, or were they built a little differently, to make using 4x 4ohm speakers safe to use? :confused: Thanx very much for any help. :)

There should be no problems using either 8 or 4 ohm speakers with the QRX-5500A. I have a 5500A and use 4 ohm speakers all the way around.
As a rule, you can use either 8 or 4 ohm speakers with amplifiers as long as you do not mix them.

MTGC (Michael)