"Tuning" the SQD-2010

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

radioheadrox

Hey guys,

I know many of you dismiss the Sony SQD-2010 as not worth any efforts in terms of decoding SQ, but I'm afraid that I cannot afford anything better!

Anywho, I've been using this unit for about 10 months and I absolutely love the meters and the switching capabilities. This is my first logic decoder, so I have nothing to compare it to, except non-logic decoders.

It decodes SQ channel ID test tones perfectly, so I know the logic circuits are working somewhat. However, with more than one or two sounds it seems that the logic 'gives up' and what results is barely distinguishable from non-logic in a side-by-side test. After reading this forum, I hear reports of the logic working like mad and pumping away in these units. I have never heard my unit pump (maybe not a bad thing!), except when playing stereo LPs. Maybe I shouldn't complain, but is this normal? Can any of you other SQD 2010/2020 owners chime in?

Are there any pots/adjusters inside to 'calibrate' this unit?