• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to Quadraphonic Quad and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member or just click here to donate.

Bench Soldering Equipment / Tools Suggestions

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
😲 Oh krap, I've been soldering electronics with lead for many decades - are you saying I'm losing my mind for different reasons? o_O [Don't answer that.]

Ah, the smell of rosin core in the morning gives one the feel.... of victory!

I notice that @zdjh22 is such an expert on this he even lives in Leadville!! :D

Ah, the smell of rosin core in the morning gives one the feel.... of victory!

I notice that @zdjh22 is such an expert on this he even lives in Leadville!! :D
I was wondering who might notice 😄.

I can also tell boring old man stories of why this town is called Leadville. And tales of the famous mining town just up Fremont Pass in what used to be the town of Climax, Colorado.

One other tool worth considering is a lugger, especially if you’re going to be working on automotive stuff. I’d say 80% of the loom connections are terminated in lugs, and trusting pliers to do a good job is unwise. And don’t be satisfied with the ones that you just squeeze until your voice changes. Get one that ratchets while it’s closing and won’t release until it’s fully crimped.

I was wondering who might notice 😄.

I can also tell boring old man stories of why this town is called Leadville. And tales of the famous mining town just up Fremont Pass in what used to be the town of Climax, Colorado.
I am vaguely aware that part of CO was home to a lot of silver mining. In that regard I have a large amount of silver/lead fine gauge solder on hand. Has worked out well over the years.