My DIY center channel speaker, very very cool looking

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Q8Repair

Alright, I'm an industrial design student. Originally I designed a box and calculated everything to the nth degree and got chastized for it being so boring... so i threw out my idea, and went back to the drawing board. I then just held onto these few concepts:

1. Very rigid mounting surfaces for the speakers
2. Curved surfaces= good, because less resonance due to reflective waves.

So, here's what happened:

Alright, so we had to design a dispenser, and I chose to do a 'sound dispenser'. It was also a plastics project, so I had to use primarily plastic in it's construction, which kinda stinks, because I wanted to do the cabinet out of wood, due to it's better acoustic properties. That said, my project was originally a box with a funky front end, which got slaughtered during critique, so I went back to the drawing board and did a TON of thumbnails. Eventually I found a design that I really liked, and decided to wall mount the speaker above the display (after xmas I'm getting a 24" iMac to use as a main machine and the entertaniment hub. Out with TVs, in with big ass computers! ).