[Dolby Atmos] Do I have to have a bed?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm an audio engineering student, and I'm going to be working with Dolby Atmos. If I know that I'm not going to need to deliver a file for a decreet channel set-up, can I create an Atmos mix that only contains objects with no bed?

I'm an audio engineering student, and I'm going to be working with Dolby Atmos. If I know that I'm not going to need to deliver a file for a decreet channel set-up, can I create an Atmos mix that only contains objects with no bed?
From the title of the post, I thought someone was considering selling their bed so they could afford an Atmos setup.

... and now, we wait for someone with an Atmos setup to chime in with a proper answer...

If you want to send audio to the LFE channel, I'm pretty sure you have to use the bed.
Ah yes, I'd forgotten about the LFE. So, you could have 1 bed channel for the LFE, and the rest of your channels (minus the time code channels) could be object channels?

If there isn't a Bed will AVRs still decode the ATMOS correctly? As I thought ATMOS removes the objects from the bed and positions them according to the mixes object positioning & the AVR speaker set-up.

If there isn't a Bed will AVRs still decode the ATMOS correctly? As I thought ATMOS removes the objects from the bed and positions them according to the mixes object positioning & the AVR speaker set-up.
I think AVRs should decode right, assuming there is no bug on its firmware.

Could it be that with few speakers the rendering is 'less' precise than directing the content to the bed channels? I really don't know, but I guess it should not be.